Eight run for two Gwinnett County school board seats

The 2019 Gwinnett County school board will have two new members. Incumbents Dan Seckinger (District II), and Robert McClure (District IV) announced last week that neither will seek re-election.

This will be the first time in a quarter century that neither is seeking office. McClure and Seckinger are the second-longest serving board members, with 24 years of experience each, second only to Louise Radloff of District V, a board member since 1973.

Qualifying ended at noon Friday, March 9. Each seat has two Democrats and two Republicans running in the May 22 general primary.

District II

Steven Knudsen (Republican)

Donald May (Democrat)

Carol Cynthia Ranft (Republican)

Wandy Taylor (Democrat)

District IV

Everton “E.J.” Blair Jr. (Democrat)

Randall N. Lee (Republican)

C. “Chuck” Studebaker (Republican)

Mark Anthony Williams (Democrat)

As the largest school district in the state, Gwinnett County serves about 180,000 students in 139 schools and nine other education facilities. With a budget of more than $2 billion, the school system has more than 22,000 employees, so is the largest employer in the county and one of the largest employers in Georgia.

More Gwinnett election coverage: