Prep Zone

Atlanta high school sports news from The Atlanta Journal-Constitution

List: Teams that won two or more consecutive state championships

Four schools have a chance to repeat as state champion this season, and one has a chance to become the third in history to win four straight. That would be Eagle's Landing Christian in the Class A private division. The other defending champions are Lee County (AAAAAA), Blessed Trinity (AAAA) and Clinch County (A public). Since 1948, when the GHSA first staged statewide playoffs in all classes, 70 of the 323 state champions (about 21.7 percent) have won again the next year. This list covers those 70. Those marked with an asterisk won three or more state titles. Those that won four are West Rome (1982-85) and Buford (2007-10).

1947-48 Lanier-Macon (A/AA) 

1949-50 Decatur (A/AA) 

1949-50 Quitman (C) 

1951-53 Valdosta (A)* 

Recommended for you

Recommended for you

Recommended for you

Most read

  1. 1 Atlanta: DeKalb County officer killed in shooting; suspect also dies
  2. 2 100 Black Men Atlanta add 51 more
  3. 3 Woman found shot dead on DeKalb walking trail was lured there

1953-54 Hawkinsville (C) 

1953-54 Model (B) 

1954-55 Rossville (AA) 

1955-56 Monticello (C) 

1955-56 Morgan County (B) 

1956-57 Statesboro (A) 

1956-57 Valdosta (AA) 

1958-59 Morgan County (B) 

1959-60 Dublin (A) 

1960-61 Waycross (AA) 

1960-62 Valdosta (AAA)* 

1962-63 Lincolnton (C) 

1965-66 Valdosta (AAA) 

1965-66 Warren County (C) 

1966-67 Washington-Wilkes (B) 

1967-68 Thomson (A) 

1968-69 Valdosta (AAA) 

1970-71 Mount de Sales (C) 

1971-72 Carrollton (A) 

1972-73 Southeast Bulloch (B) 

1973-74 Thomasville (AAA) 

1974-75 Americus (AA) 

1976-77 Lincoln County (B) 

1977-78 East Rome (A/AA) 

1982-83 Palmetto (A) 

1982-85 West Rome (AA)* 

1984-85 Thomson (AAA) 

1985-87 Lincoln County (A)* 

1986-87 Central-Carrollton (AA) 

1989-90 Lincoln County (A) 

1989-90 Valdosta (AAAA) 

1992-94 Thomas Central (AAA)* 

1996-97 Thomas Central (AAA) 

1996-97 Washington Co. (AA) 

2000-01 Americus (AA) 

2000-02 Parkview (AAAAA)* 

2001-03 Buford (A/AA)* 

2003-04 Hawkinsville (A) 

2003-04 LaGrange (AAA) 

2004-05 Lowndes (AAAAA) 

2004-06 Charlton County (AA)* 

2005-06 Lincoln County (A) 

2005-06 Peach County (AAA) 

2006-07 Northside-WR (AAAA) 

2007-10 Buford (AA)* 

2008-09 Camden Co. (AAAAA) 

2009-10 Sandy Creek (AAAA/AAA) 

2012-13 Norcross (AAAAAA) 

2012-14 Buford (AAA)* 

2014-15 Colquitt Co. (AAAAAA) 

2015-16 Cartersville (AAAA) 

2015-17 ELCA (A)* 

2016-17 Rome (AAAAA) 

Produced by Georgia High School Football Daily, a free e-mail newsletter. To join the mailing list, click here.

More from AJC