Oklahoma sweeps Florida, becomes back-to-back National Champions

The Oklahoma Sooners defended their National Championship title on Tuesday night when they defeated Florida 5-4 and became 2017 Women’s College World Series Champions.

The most influential play in Tuesday’s Game 2 of the series was a three-run double by Sooners first baseman Shay Knighten that put the Sooners up 5-3 in the second inning.

The title is the Sooners’ third in five years.

The Sooners defeated the Gators 7-5 in the first game of the series on Monday night in a 17-inning battle that ended with a three-run home run from Knighten. The Sooners faced Gators pitcher Kelly Barnhill on Monday night. Barnhill, a graduate of Pope High School in Marietta, was voted SEC Player of the Year.

Oklahoma freshman Mariah Lopez earned the win in the Sooners' fourth National Championship win in program history, relieving pitcher Paige Parker who struggled on Tuesday, according to ABC News.

👌. Hear more National Championship reaction from the #Sooners here ➡️ https://t.co/D4bXW1T4yA pic.twitter.com/e5Hz1v601n— Oklahoma Softball (@OU_Softball) June 7, 2017