Falcons wide receiver Taylor Gabriel scores a 35-yard touchdown against the Cardinals for a 17-10 lead during the second quarter  Sunday, Nov. 27, 2016, in Atlanta. 
Photo: Curtis Compton/ccompton@ajc.com
Photo: Curtis Compton/ccompton@ajc.com

Falcons release ‘official’ depth chart for Bears’ game 

About the only surprise is that Brooks Reed and Courtney Upshaw are listed as the first-team defensive ends in the base defense. However the Falcons, like most teams, spend much more time in the nickel and those rush defensive ends will be Vic Beasley, Adrian Clayborn and Takkarist McKinley. 

Schweitzer elated to be named starter

Also, wide receiver Justin Hardy is listed as the backup kickoff returner and Taylor Gabriel as the backup punt returner both behind Andre Roberts.

“Taylor has certainly earned that through his time here,” Falcons coach Dan Quinn said. “It was something that we went into the offseason hoping to have a chance to have Taylor compete for it as well. Due to the (lower leg injury) he had in training camp, he wasn’t able to. It’s purely for Andre Roberts right now, but we’ll keep Taylor ready just in case.”

Wes Schweitzer won the starting right guard battle with Ben Garland, who’s listed as the backup right guard and center. 

Here’s the depth chart:


WR 11 Julio Jones, 14 Justin Hardy, 19 Andre Roberts 

LT 70 Jake Matthews, 74 Ty Sambrailo

LG 67 Andy Levitre, 64 Sean Harlow

C 51 Alex Mack, 63 Ben Garland 

RG 71 Wes Schweitzer, 63 Ben Garland 

RT 73 Ryan Schraeder, 68 Austin Pasztor

TE 81 Austin Hooper, 80 Levine Toilolo, 85 Eric Saubert 

WR 12 Mohamed Sanu, 18 Taylor Gabriel, 15 Nick Williams 

QB 2 Matt Ryan, 8 Matt Schaub 

RB 24 Devonta Freeman, 26 Tevin Coleman, 28 Terron Ward, 25 Brian Hill 

FB 40 Derrick Coleman 


DE 50 Brooks Reed, 99 Adrian Clayborn, 98 Takk McKinley 

DT 92 Dontari Poe, 95 Jack Crawford 

DT 97 Grady Jarrett 

DE 91 Courtney Upshaw, 90 Derrick Shelby 

LB 44 Vic Beasley Jr. 

LB 45 Deion Jones, 56 Jermaine Grace

LB 59 De’Vondre Campbell, 42 Duke Riley, 36 Kemal Ishmael 

CB 23 Robert Alford, 29 C.J. Goodwin, 33 Blidi Wreh-Wilson 

CB 21 Desmond Trufant, 34 Brian Poole, 30 Deji Olatoye 

S 37 Ricardo Allen, 20 Sharrod Neasman, 27 Damontae Kazee 

S 22 Keanu Neal, 36 Kemal Ishmael 


K 3 Matt Bryant

KO 5 Matt Bosher

P 5 Matt Bosher

KR 19 Andre Roberts, 14 Justin Hardy 

PR 19 Andre Roberts, 18 Taylor Gabriel

LS 47 Josh Harris

H 5 Matt Bosher

Support real journalism. Support local journalism. Subscribe to The Atlanta Journal-Constitution today. See offers.

Your subscription to the Atlanta Journal-Constitution funds in-depth reporting and investigations that keep you informed. Thank you for supporting real journalism.

Download the new AJC app. More local news, more breaking news and in-depth journalism.
AJC.com. Atlanta. News. Now.

Download the new AJC app. More local news, more breaking news and in-depth journalism.
AJC.com. Atlanta. News. Now.