Holy Spirit Prep's Anthony Edwards is rated a five-star recruit and ranked as the nation's top shooting guard for the 2019 class. (Stanley Johnson/GrassRoots Sports Media)
Photo: Stanley Johnson//GrassRoots Sports Media
Photo: Stanley Johnson//GrassRoots Sports Media

UGA, Anthony Edwards set to open season Nov. 5

Georgia coach Tom Crean’s second season — and the likely debut of the nation’s No. 2 recruit — has been set for Nov. 5 in Athens. 

The Bulldogs’ 13-game non-conference schedule was announced Tuesday, and UGA will face Western Carolina at Stegeman Coliseum in the season opener, with the tipoff time to be determined. Anthony Edwards, a 6-foot-5 guard who played at Holy Spirit Preparatory School, leads a recruiting class ranked in the top 10 of the 247Sports Composite. 

The notable non-conference games include home games against Georgia Tech on Nov. 20 and SMU on Dec. 20 and games at Arizona State on Dec. 14 and at Memphis on Jan. 4. No game times were released Tuesday for any of the games.

Georgia will travel to Maui, Hawaii, for the Maui Jim Maui Invitational on Nov. 25-27. The bracket hasn’t been set, but the field consists of Georgia, Kansas, Michigan State, UCLA, Virginia Tech, Dayton, BYU and Chaminade. 

Georgia’s non-conference schedule:

Tuesday, Nov. 5 vs. Western Carolina 

Tuesday, Nov. 12 vs. The Citadel 

Friday, Nov. 15 vs. Delaware State* 

Wednesday, Nov. 20 vs. Georgia Tech 

Monday, Nov. 25 vs. TBD (Maui, Hawaii)* 

Tuesday, Nov. 26 vs. TBD (Maui, Hawaii)*

Wednesday, Nov. 27 vs. TBD (Maui, Hawaii)*

Wednesday, Dec. 4 vs. N.C. Central 

Saturday, Dec. 14 at Arizona State

Friday, Dec. 20 vs. SMU 

Monday, Dec. 23 vs. Georgia Southern 

Monday, Dec. 30 vs. Austin Peay 

Saturday, Jan. 4 at Memphis 

* - Game is part of the Maui Jim Maui Invitational. The Nov. 15 game is scheduled for Stegeman Coliseum.

Support real journalism. Support local journalism. Subscribe to The Atlanta Journal-Constitution today. See offers.

Your subscription to the Atlanta Journal-Constitution funds in-depth reporting and investigations that keep you informed. Thank you for supporting real journalism.

X