Florida Gators' Billy Donovan named SEC Coach of the Year

After dominating the SEC most of the season, the Florida Gators collected a heap of the conference’s post-season awards on Tuesday.

Billy Donovan won Coach of the Year for steering the 13th-ranked Gators to their second regular-season SEC championship in three years. He also captured it when Florida won the conference in 2011.

Erik Murphy was UF’s only all-SEC first-team selection. Murphy, a senior, led the conference in three-point shooting at 46.6 percent and averaged 12.4 points and 5.2 rebounds per game.

Patric Young, a center, and guards Kenny Boynton and Mike Rosario made the second team. Young and guard Scottie Wilbekin also were voted to the all-defensive team, and Young was named SEC Scholar-Athlete of the Year in part because of his 3.38 grade-point average.

Michael Frazier II, one of Florida’s key reserves, made the all-freshman team.

The conference asks coaches to vote for the eight-man first team, second team and all-freshman team, as well as the five-player all-defensive team and individual honors.