Braves’ Chipper Jones, Andruw Jones among players on 2018 Hall of Fame ballot

WARREN SPAHN Warren Spahn pitched for the Boston and Milwaukee Braves. Spahn had 13 seasons in which he won 20 games. EDDIE MATHEWS Mathews played for 15 seasons with the Braves -- in Boston, Milwaukee and Atlanta. The third baseman hit 512 home runs with the Braves. HANK AARON Aaron spent 23 seasons with the Braves. Aaron hit 24 or more home runs every year from 1955 through 1973. Aaron broke Babe Ruth's home run record in 1974. PHIL NIEKRO Niekro began pitching for the Milwaukee Braves in 1964. Niekro

In their first year of eligibility, former Atlanta Braves third baseman Chipper Jones and outfielder Andruw Jones are among the  candidates on the 2018 Hall of Fame ballot released by the Baseball Writers’ Association of America Monday.

The pair of Joneses were also on the ballot alongside former Braves Fred McGriff, Gary Sheffield, Billy Wagner and Kevin Millwood.

In 19 seasons with the Braves, Chipper Jones’ accolades include being named an eight-time All-Star, National League MVP in 1999 and World Series champion in 1995. The former first overall pick in the 1990 MLB Draft out of Pierson, Fla., Jones also recorded a .303 career batting average with 2,726 hits and 468 home runs.

Chipper Jones tasted a lot of success during his playing career with the Braves. 

icon to expand image

In 17 seasons— 12 with the Braves— Andruw Jones won 10 Gold Glove Awards and recorded an .850 OPS and 342 home runs.

To be elected into the Hall of Fame, candidates must be nominated on 75 percent of ballots cast by selected Baseball Writers’ Association of America members who have 10 or more consecutive years of Major League Baseball coverage.

The 2018 Hall of Fame ballots will be mailed to over 425 voting members of the BBWAA this week and results will be announced on Jan. 24.

Below is the full ballot for the 2018 Hall of Fame class:

Barry Bonds

Chris Carpenter

Roger Clemens

Johnny Damon

Vladimir Guerrero

Livan Hernandez

Trevor Hoffman

Orlando Hudson

Aubrey Huff

Jason Isringhausen

Andruw Jones

Chipper Jones

Jeff Kent

Carlos Lee

Brad Lidge

Edgar Martinez

Hideki Matsui

Fred McGriff

Kevin Millwood

Jamie Moyer

Mike Mussina

Manny Ramirez

Scott Rolen

Johan Santana

Curt Schilling

Gary Sheffield

Sammy Sosa

Jim Thome

Omar Vizquel

Billy Wagner

Larry Walker

Kerry Wood

Carlos Zambrano.

About the Author