Since moving to Atlanta in 1966, the Braves have featured some of the leagues' top rookies.

5 things to know about Rafael Furcal and Hall of Fame 

Andruw Jones, who won 10 consecutive Gold Gloves with the Braves through 2007 and hit 428 home runs in a 17-year career, appeared in 7.3 percent of ballots cast by members of the Baseball Writers’ Association of America last year. He — and former Braves Gary Sheffield and Billy Wagner — will remain on the ballot.

Likely joining them for 2020 for the first time is onetime teammate Rafael Furcal.

» Vote: Best Atlanta shortstop of all time?

The shortstop spent his first six seasons in Atlanta, winning the 2000 N.L. Rookie of the Year. He finished a 14-year career with the Dodgers, Cardinals and Marlins.

The three-time All-Star — on three separate teams — led N.L. shortstops in putouts twice (2005-06) and assists twice (2003, 2006).

Offensively Furcal compiled a .281 career batting average with 1,817 hits, 1,063 runs, 311 doubles, 314 stolen bases and a respectable WAR of 39.4. He led the N.L. in triples (10) in 2003.

He won a World Series with St. Louis in 2011.

Furcal was among the former Braves assisting in camp this spring. Will he be in Cooperstown next?

Other notable players eligible on the ballot for first time are:
• Bobby Abreu, 2-time All-Star 
• Josh Beckett, 2003 World Series MVP, 3-time All-Star
• Eric Chavez, 6-time Gold Glove winner 
• Jason Giambi, 2000 A.L. MVP, 5-time All-Star  
• Derek Jeter, 5-time World Series champion, 14-time All-Star
• Paul Konerko, 2005 ALCS MVP, 6-time All-star
• Cliff Lee, 2008 A.L. Cy Young, 4-time All-Star 
• Brian Roberts, 2-time All-Star 
• Alfonso Soriano, 7-time All-Star, one of four to reach 40 homers/40 steals in a season 

Support real journalism. Support local journalism. Subscribe to The Atlanta Journal-Constitution today. See offers.

Your subscription to the Atlanta Journal-Constitution funds in-depth reporting and investigations that keep you informed. Thank you for supporting real journalism.