Representing three schools - Campbell High School, Whitefield Academy and Atlanta International School, 11 high school students are new members of the Smyrna Youth Council. Courtesy of Whitefield Academy

Smyrna Youth Council selected

Members of the 2018-19 Smyrna Youth Council have been selected and attended their first official meeting in mid-October.

The council consists of 11 high school students from Campbell High School, Whitefield Academy and Atlanta International School, according to a city statement.

Council members are Emily Damron, Lilly David, Kiran Gourisankar, Siri Gulledge, Nai’la Morris, Payton Nicholson, Shriya Patel, Brendan Porter, Adria Stevens, William Taylor and Adiyah Thomas.

They will meet regularly to discuss emerging community issues and assist with planning city projects throughout the school year.

Council members will be sworn in during the 7 p.m. City Council meeting on Monday at City Hall, 2800 King St., Smyrna.

Those who have interest in sponsoring the Youth Council, assisting with projects or presenting on behalf of their organization may contact Smyrna Special Projects Coordinator Maxwell Ruppersburg at


Support real journalism. Support local journalism. Subscribe to The Atlanta Journal-Constitution today. See offers.

Your subscription to the Atlanta Journal-Constitution funds in-depth reporting and investigations that keep you informed. Thank you for supporting real journalism.