Mayor Rusty Paul ran unopposed and was re-elected to a second term in Sandy Springs, but the city will welcome two new members to its city council after Tuesday’s election.

Sandy Springs elects two new members to city council

The current city council in Sandy Springs is made up of all men, but that will change soon.

In Tuesday’s election, the majority of voters in the city in north Fulton County cast their ballots for Jody Reichel to fill the District 4 seat on the council.

Reichel, 54, defeated Le’Dor Milteer in the election by garnering 64 percent of the vote. Just 1,425 people participated in the election. Another newcomer to the council is Steve Soteres, who ran unopposed to succeed Ken Dishman, who chose not to seek re-election.

READ: Rusty Paul says this was ‘likely’ his last campaign

READ: Joe Lockwood re-elected in Milton

This isn’t the first time a woman has served on Sandy Springs’ council. The city’s first mayor was a woman, the late Eva Galambos.

Reichel is a real estate investor and served as the treasurer of her neighborhood’s HOA. She told the AJC she got into the race to help ease “traffic challenges” that the city faces.

“Thank you to my new friends and old friends in District 4, especially my wonderful neighbors in Mt. Vernon Woods, for having the confidence to elect me to represent you,” Reichel wrote on her Facebook page after the election.

READ: Mayor, council races in Roswell head to runoff

READ: 8 from Atlanta to watch in college basketball this year

Reichel succeeds Gabriel Sterling on the council, who didn’t seek re-election and instead campaigned for the Fulton County Chair. He placed third in the election with 27 percent of the vote, finishing behind Robb Pitts and Keisha Waites.

Incumbent mayor Rusty Paul was unopposed and was re-elected to a second term. Council incumbents Andy Bauman, Chris Burnett, Tibby DeJulio and John Paulson were also re-elected after no challengers arose.

Like North Fulton County News Now on Facebook and follow on Twitter 


The man left his girlfriend in the passenger seat

Support real journalism. Support local journalism. Subscribe to The Atlanta Journal-Constitution today. See offers.

Your subscription to the Atlanta Journal-Constitution funds in-depth reporting and investigations that keep you informed. Thank you for supporting real journalism.