Polls open for early voting

Metro residents can get a jump on the November elections beginning in the next few days as polls open for early voting.

There are three state races and about three dozen cities are conducting municipal elections in Metro Atlanta.

Here is a rundown of early voting dates and polling sites:


Kennesaw, Marietta and Powder Springs: Oct. 9-30 at the Cobb Elections Main Office, 736 Whitlock Ave., Marietta, in the West Park Government Center. Information, 770-528-2581 or www.cobbelections.org.

Austell: Oct. 19-30 at Austell City Hall, 2716 Broad St., S.W. Absentee ballots can be picked up the week of Oct. 12. Information, 770- 944-4326 or e-mail clerk@austell.org.


Alpharetta, College Park, East Point, Fairburn, Milton, Roswell, Sandy Springs and Union City: Oct. 12-23 at the Fulton County Voters Registration office at 7741 Roswell Road, Atlanta, 404-613-7675; Fulton County Government Center 141 Pryor St., Atlanta, Suite 4064, 404-612-7060; South Service Center, 5600 Stonewall Tell Road, Room 105, Atlanta, 404-612-3050. www.fultoncountyga.gov/county/elections.

Atlanta: Oct. 12-23, at the Fulton County Government Center 141 Pryor St., Atlanta, Suite 4064, 404-612-7060; and the DeKalb County Voter Registration and Elections office, 4380 Memorial Drive, Suite 300, Decatur, 404-298-4020.


Forest Park: Oct. 12-30 at City Hall. Information, 404-366-4720
Riverdale: Oct. 13-30 at City Hall. Information, 770-909-5390

Jonesboro: Early voting begins as soon as the city receives election materials and will run through Oct. 30 at City Hall. Information, 770-478-3800.


Atlanta, Chamblee, Clarkston, Decatur, Doraville, Lithonia, Pine Lake, Stone Mountain: Oct. 12-30 at DeKalb County Elections Office, 4380 Memorial Drive, suite 300, Decatur. Information, 404-298-4020


Berkeley Lake: Oct. 13-29 at City Hall. Information, 770-368-9484

Braselton: Oct. 12-30 at Town Hall. Information, 706-654-3915

Dacula: Oct. 12-30 at City Hall. Information, 770-963-7451

Duluth: Oct. 13-30 at City Hall. Information: 770-476-3434

Grayson: Oct. 5-30 at City Hall. Information, 770-963-8017

Snellville: Oct. 13-30 at City Hall. It could start earlier if clerk receives ballots earlier. Information, 770-985-3500

Suwanee: Oct. 13-30 at City Hall. Information, 770-945-8996

Sugar Hill: Oct. 13-30 at Sugar Hill Community Center. Information, 770-945-6716

Lawrenceville: Two days after receiving ballots; drop-dead begin date is Oct. 13-30, at City Hall. Information, 770-963-2414

Loganville: As soon as ballots come in through Oct. 30 at City Hall. Information, 770-466-318

House District 75

Portions of Clayton County, including Jonesboro, Morrow and Riverdale and some portions of Forest Park, can vote early at the Clayton County Courthouse in Jonesboro.

House District 58

Portions of Fulton and DeKalb can vote at the sites listed above.

Senate District 35

Portions of Fulton County can vote at the sites listed above.

Advance voting, early voting and absentee voting

Early voting allows registered voters to cast a ballot anytime from 45 to 21 days before an election. It requires voters to complete an application, provide identification and cast the ballot the same day.

Advance voting is almost the same as early voting and usually occurs the week before the election. Usually, during this week, the number of polling sites is expanded.

Absentee voting provides registered voters the ability to cast a ballot by mail. Registered voters must complete an application and mail or fax it to the elections office.