DeKalb students win National Merit scholarships

Winners were: Tsion A. Horra, of Tucker High School; Jamila N. Pegues, of Arabia Mountain High; Amanda K. Bennett, of Chamblee High; and Trevor K. Lindsay, of Columbia High.

They were among more than 160,000 students who entered, and were selected based on test scores, academic performance, school endorsement and an essay.

Support real journalism. Support local journalism. Subscribe to The Atlanta Journal-Constitution today. See offers.

Your subscription to the Atlanta Journal-Constitution funds in-depth reporting and investigations that keep you informed. Thank you for supporting real journalism.