8/1/18 - Atlanta - Superintendent Meria Carstarphen, helps London Williams with her math assignment in Hannah Reisman's class. It was the first day of school at Peyton Forest Elementary school, which is celebrating its 50th anniversary. Teachers and staff welcomed the kids with a circus theme. BOB ANDRES /BANDRES@AJC.COM
Photo: Bob Andres/bandres@ajc.com
Photo: Bob Andres/bandres@ajc.com

AJC honors 10 of metro Atlanta’s top educators with annual Celebrating Teachers Awards 

For the second year, the Atlanta Journal-Constitution is honoring 10 of metro Atlanta most exceptional teachers through its AJC Celebrating Teachers Awards

The awards program seeks to recognize those educators who have a positive impact on not only their students lives but the community as a whole. Some of the educators selected have used creatively utilized subject matters − from science to poetry − to spark their students’ interest and ensure learning is an engaging experience for their pupils.

More than 200 public and private school teachers for grades kindergarten through 12 were nominated for the award. On Wednesday, Aug. 29, the 10 educators will be honored at the AJC Celebrating Teacher’s Awards ceremony.

The teachers were selected by a panel of three independent academic leaders, who represent local universities and Georgia’s professional education standards.

Nothing is worth more to parents than knowing that dedicated teachers are educating, inspiring and encouraging their children,” AJC Editor Kevin Riley said. “We believe the very best are worth honoring and giving them the recognition they deserve. It will be a moment of significant pride for the honoree, their family and school.”  

This year’s winners will be recognized at an exclusive awards ceremony on Wednesday, Aug. 29. Those winners will be honored in a special commemorative section in the  Sunday paper on Aug. 26.

Meet the 2018 winners of the AJC’s Celebrating Teachers Awards:

Celeste McNeil Clark

Celeste McNeil Clark, Kipp Strive Academy, Atlanta Charter 

Jason Carr, Rocky Mount Elementary School, Cobb County

Chelsea Cook, Dunaire Elementary School, DeKalb County

Kara Cowdrick, Charles Brant Chesney Elementary School, Gwinnett County

Margaret Garth, Chattahoochee High School, Fulton County

Robert Katz

Robert Katz, Norcross High School, Gwinnett County

Emily Lamos, Elkins Pointe Middle School, Fulton County

Cicely Lewis, Meadowcreek High School, Gwinnett County

Photo: Philippe Nobile Photography

Carrie Beth Rykowski, Vickery Creek Middle School, Forsyth County

Stephanie Spencer, Sagamore Hills Elementary School, DeKalb County

Learn more about the winners and awards at AJC.com.

Support real journalism. Support local journalism. Subscribe to The Atlanta Journal-Constitution today. See offers.

Your subscription to the Atlanta Journal-Constitution funds in-depth reporting and investigations that keep you informed. Thank you for supporting real journalism.