Trivia: Last team before Clarke Central to beat Buford in region game

Clarke Central ended Buford's 47-game winning streak in region games last week with a 31-28 victory that gave Clarke the Region 8-AAAAA championship. Buford forfeited two region wins in 2012 for the inadvertent use of ineligible players in games that Buford won handily. Buford's on-the-field record in region games since 2001 had been 120-1 entering the Clarke Central game. Which 2009 opponent dealt that lone defeat? (Answer Tuesday)

Answer to Friday's question: The Gwinnett County Schools programs that have won region titles with four different coaches are Grayson (Mickey Conn, Jeff Herron, Christian Hunnicutt, Adam Carter) and Dacula (Mike Strickland, Kevin Maloof, Tommy Jones, Clint Jenkins). The South Georgia school holds the state record with 11 different coaches leading it to region titles is Thomasville (Erskine Mills, Joe Sumrall, Lee Forehand, Jim Hughes, Mike Hodges, George Bobo, Jack Johnson, Tommy Welch, Richie Marsh, E.O. Garner, Zach Grage). Mitchell County (10) and Thomson (10) are next. 

Produced by Georgia High School Football Daily, a free e-mail newsletter. To join the mailing list, click here.

Support real journalism. Support local journalism. Subscribe to The Atlanta Journal-Constitution today. See offers.

Your subscription to the Atlanta Journal-Constitution funds in-depth reporting and investigations that keep you informed. Thank you for supporting real journalism.

About the Author