Photo: AJC
Photo: AJC

Trivia: Last NW Georgia champ other than Rome, Cartersville or Calhoun

Rockmart, located in Polk County in northwest Georgia, is in the state finals for the first time since 1957. What was the last northwest Georgia team to win a state championship other than Rome, Calhoun and Cartersville, schools that have won a combined seven state championships since 2011? (Answer Thursday)

Answer to Tuesday's question: The seven head coaches in GHSA history with five or more state titles are Wright Bazemore of Valdosta (14), Larry Campbell of Lincoln County (11), Nick Hyder of Valdosta (seven), Jess Simpson of Buford (seven), Charlie Grisham of Carrollton (five), Ed Pilcher of Thomas County Central (five) and Jeff Herron of Oconee County, Camden County and Grayson (five). 

Produced by Georgia High School Football Daily, a free e-mail newsletter. To join the mailing list, click here.

Support real journalism. Support local journalism. Subscribe to The Atlanta Journal-Constitution today. See offers.

Your subscription to the Atlanta Journal-Constitution funds in-depth reporting and investigations that keep you informed. Thank you for supporting real journalism.

About the Author