Class A Blog: Power ratings certified, playoff brackets now set


The final power ratings have been finalized and the playoff brackets are set.

In a bit of a surprise, Savannah Country Day is the top seed in the private school playoffs. The Hornets (10-0, 6-0) finished third in the power ratings with a rating of 15.02, behind No. 1 Eagle’s Landing Christian Academy (15.26) and No. 2 Darlington (15.18). However, SCD won the Region 3 championship and region champions take precedent when determining the top 8 seeds, all of whom receive a bye in the first round.

The Hornets were No. 4 in last week’s power rating, just behind Holy Innocents’, the Region 5 champions. The teams switched places this week, by virtue of Region 3 being stronger than Region 5 this season.

There was no such drama on the public side, as Irwin County (9-0, 6-0) won the Region 2 title for the third consecutive season and is the No. 1 seed in the playoff bracket.

Here are the playoff brackets:


Upper Left

No. 24 First Presbyterian Day at No. 9 Wesleyan
No. 8 Christian Heritage (Bye)

No. 17 Calvary Day at No. 16 Savannah Christian
No. 1 Savannah Country Day (Bye)

Lower Left

No. 21 Mount Vernon Presbyterian at No. 12 Hebron Christian
No. 5 Mount de Sales (Bye)

No. 20 George Walton Academy at No. 13 North Cobb Christian
No. 4 Fellowship Christian (Bye)

Upper Right

No. 23 Mount Paran Christian at No. 10 Aquinas
No. 7 Darlington (Bye)

No. 18 St. Francis at No. 15 Trinity Christian
No. 2 Holy Innocents' (Bye)

Lower Right

No. 22 Stratford Academy at No. 11 Prince Avenue Christian
No. 6 Eagle's Landing Christian Academy (Bye)

No. 19 Brookstone at No. 14 Whitefield Academy 
No. 3 Athens Academy (Bye)


Upper Left

No. 24 Taylor County at No. 9 Manchester
No. 8 Johnson County (Bye)

No. 17 Chattahoochee County at No. 16 Washington-Wilkes
No. 1 Irwin County (Bye)

Lower Left

No. 21 Warren County at No. 12 Terrell County
No. 5 Bowdon (Bye)

No. 20 Emanuel County Institute at No. 13 McIntosh County Academy
No. 4 Clinch County (Bye)

Upper Right

No. 23 Trion at No. 10 Commerce
No. 7 Lincoln County (Bye)

No. 18 Schley County at No. 15 Claxton
No. 2 Marion County (Bye)

Lower Right

No. 22 Seminole County at No. 11 Wilcox County
No. 6 Pelham (Bye)

No. 19 Macon County at No. 14 Turner County
No. 2 Mitchell County (Bye)

About the Author