Q: In the game between Peach County and Houston County, Peach County blocked Max Rigby's punt. Rigby, also the quarterback, picked up the loose ball and threw a completed pass that resulted in a call of first down despite protests from the Peach County coaches. He kicked the ball, so it clearly wasn't a fake. Was the call correct? - Victor Kulkosky, Fort Valley

A: Correct call - as long as the player recovered the blocked punt in or behind the neutral zone, which it sounds so. It is Rule 6-2-3. Heads up play by the punter/QB. The key would be whether or not anyone was downfield illegally if the pass was thrown beyond line of scrimmage. But that's a different call." - Keith Hammond, Georgia Football Officials Association

Produced by Georgia High School Football Daily, a free e-mail newsletter. To join the mailing list, click here.

About the Author

Featured

MARTA's Kensington Station in DeKalb County, seen last month, was the site of a bus collision Sunday, Nov. 2, 2025, a MARTA spokesperson said. (Abbey Cutrer/AJC)

Credit: abbey.cutrer@ajc.com