Douglass senior QB Juan Powell (7) is pursued by Hapeville Charter senior CB Malik Fleming (1) late in the first half of their game Friday, September 28, 2018 at Lakewood Stadium. PHOTO/Daniel Varnado
Photo: Daniel Varnado
Photo: Daniel Varnado

All-region teams: Douglass RB Powell named 6-AA player of the year

Here is the all-region team for 6-AA, as voted by the league's coaches:

Athlete of the year: RB Juan Powell, Douglass, Sr. 

Offensive player of the year: QB Adrien Williams, Washington, Sr. 

Defensive player of the year: DB Malik Fleming, Hapeville Charter, Sr. 

Coach of the year: Derrick Avery, Washington 

First-team offense 

QB - Jeremy Stephens, Hapeville Charter, Jr. 

RB - Marcus Carroll, Hapeville Charter, Jr. 

RB - Quintavious Lockett, Washington, Fr. 

WR - Jamontae Jean, Therrell, Jr. 

WR - Jordan Atkins, Washington, Sr. 

WR - Jordan Lee, Hapeville Charter, Sr 

TE - Rashad Whitehead, B.E.S.T. Academy, Jr. 

OL - Dajon Upshur, Hapeville Charter, Sr. 

OL - Rashad Graham, Washington, Sr. 

OL - John Rogers, Douglass, Sr. 

OL - Devontae Hightower, South Atlanta, Sr. 

OL - Donato Patterson, Therrell, Sr. 

K - Alex Barnett, Hapeville Charter, Sr. 

ATH - Andre Harris, McNair, Jr. 

First-team defense 

DL - Richard Benton Jr., B.E.S.T. Academy, Sr. 

DL - Jajuan White, Hapeville Charter, Sr. 

DL - Johnny Hudson, Washington, Sr. 

DL - Rodricus Fitten, Washington, Sr. 

LB - Xavier Carter, Hapeville Charter, So. 

LB - Marquez Clark, Therrell, Sr. 

LB - Oscar Wyatt, Douglass, Sr. 

LB - Giovanni Morgan, B.E.S.T. Academy, Jr. 

DB - Michael Holmes, Washington, Jr. 

DB - Qwantez Stiggers, B.E.S.T. Academy, Jr. 

DB - Armani Maddox, Hapeville Charter, Jr. 

DB - Darius George, McNair, Sr. 

P - Joseph Weiers, Hapeville Charter, Jr. 

Second-team offense 

QB - Quindarius Sterling, Therrell, So. 

RB - Orlando Banks, Hapeville Charter, Sr. 

RB - Jarvis Porter, South Atlanta, Sr. 

WR - Sam Pittman, KIPP Atlanta Collegiate, So. 

WR - Dedrick Jones, B.E.S.T. Academy, So. 

WR - Vachon Raye, Washington, Jr. 

WR - Jaqez Smith, Hapeville Charter, So. 

OL - Micheal Humphery, McNair, Sr. 

OL - Xavier Duffey, B.E.S.T. Academy, Sr. 

OL - Dominque Wright, Washington, Sr. 

OL - Vidal Marshall, McNair, Sr. 

OL - Eryan Thompson, Hapeville Charter, Sr. 

K - Nazeeh Shakir, KIPP Atlanta Collegiate, Sr. 

ATH - Gary Davis, South Atlanta, Sr. 

Second-team defense 

DL - Durell Harris, Douglass, Sr. 

DL - Dakwon Devine, B.E.S.T. Academy, Sr. 

DL - Kemra Matthews, McNair, Sr. 

DL - Cameron Fortson, Therrell, Jr. 

LB - Nakeem Smith, South Atlanta, Sr. 

LB - Jacardo McClarty, Washington, Sr. 

LB - Khaliq Brock, B.E.S.T. Academy, Fr. 

LB - Dontavious Brewer, McNair, Sr. 

DB - Tajrri Smith, Hapeville Charter, Jr. 

DB - Rashod Pruitt, Therrell, Jr. 

DB - Jair Rushin, South Atlanta, Sr. 

DB - Duane Russell, South Atlanta, Jr. 

P - Andres Calderon, South Atlanta, Jr. 

Honorable mention: ATH Kevin Williams, Therrell, Jr.; ATH Deontre Morris, Therrell, So.; QB Andrew Banks, South Atlanta, Jr.; RB Tremonta Jackson, Douglass, Sr.; RB Desean Powell, Sr.; RB Gregory Robinson II, B.E.S.T. Academy, Jr.; TE Kevien Zachary, B.E.S.T. Academy, So.; OL Alpha Taore, Washington, Sr.; OL Jordan Gaynor, South Atlanta, Sr.; OL Dequavious McCarty, South Atlanta, Sr.; OL Donniles Foster, B.E.S.T. Academy, Jr.; OL Carlos Allen, Douglass, Sr.; OL Myles Flowers, Hapeville Charter, Sr.; OL Jacobia Sims, Therrell, Sr.; OL Kennan Cooper, B.E.S.T. Academy, So.; OL Kalumn Banks, South Atlanta, Jr.; OL Jacorey Long, Washington, Jr.; OL William Royalston, Washington, Jr.; WR Judah Johnson, Hapeville Charter, Sr.; WR Ronald Mason, Washington, Sr.; WR Kymarea Hamilton, Washington, Jr.; DL Mario Barber, South Atlanta, So.; DL Robert Lee, Hapeville Charter, Jr.; DL Rondarious Howard, Washington, Sr.; DL Kiersten Lee, Hapeville Charter, Jr.; DL Devin Brown, South Atlanta, Jr.; DL Darrle Jacobs, South Atlanta, So.; LB Davion Williams, South Atlanta, So.; LB Jeffery Powell, Washington, Sr.; LB Patrick Brittain, Therrell, Jr.; LB Faruq Aderibigbe, Therrell, FR.; LB Marquavious McClendon, Therrell, Sr.; LB Jalen Mason, Hapeville Charter, Sr.; LB Jordan Anderson, South Atlanta, Jr.; LB Maurice Edwards, Washington, So.; DB Mykal Nelson, Therrell, Fr.; DB Jonthan Nunn, Washington, Jr.; DB Jameel Williams, Hapeville Charter, Sr.; DB Zackary Beckton, Hapeville Charter, Sr.; DB Jalin Young, South Atlanta, So.; LB Shannon Duckworth, McNair, Sr.; OL Daiyon Chapman, McNair, Sr.; DB Jonathan, McNair, Sr.; DE Adrian Collins, McNair, Sr.; DB Markell Sutton, McNair.; DL Isaiah Washington, Douglass, Jr.; DL Jabez Blaze, McNair, Sr. 

Produced by Georgia High School Football Daily, a free e-mail newsletter. To join the mailing list, click here.

Support real journalism. Support local journalism. Subscribe to The Atlanta Journal-Constitution today. See offers.

Your subscription to the Atlanta Journal-Constitution funds in-depth reporting and investigations that keep you informed. Thank you for supporting real journalism.

About the Author