Votes still to be counted in DeKalb commission, sheriff’s races



By late Wednesday afternoon, DeKalb County appeared to have tabulated most election day and advance voting results.

But tens of thousands of absentee ballots remained to be counted, making it hard to draw concrete conclusions about key races for the county commission, sheriff and other positions.

Read the below recap of current results, but keep in mind that, according to elections board chairman Sam Tillman, as many as 140,000 ballots are yet to be counted.

And return for updates.

Sheriff: Most DeKalb residents were actually voting on two separate sheriff's races.

The first was a special election, originally set for March, to fill the unexpired term of former Sheriff Jeffrey Mann. Mann stepped down late last year amid the certification battle that followed his 2017 arrest in Piedmont Park.

The winner of the special election — or the subsequent runoff — will serve as sheriff only until the end of 2020.

The second sheriff’s race on Tuesday’s ballots was a Democratic primary that will help determine who becomes DeKalb’s next full-term sheriff. The winner will face a lone Republican challenger come November.

In early, unofficial results from both crowded races, incumbent Sheriff Melody Maddox had a significant leads for first place but was shy of the 50% mark to avoid a runoff.

Ruth “The Truth” Stringer and Antonio “Block” Johnson were battling for second in both races.

County Commission, District 1: In this northern DeKalb district, primary voters were choosing between four Democratic candidates. The winner will take on Nancy Jester, the county commission's lone Republican, in November.

Incomplete results had Cynthia Yaxon with a lead in the four-candidate field. Former Doraville city councilmen MD Naser and Robert Patrick battling for second.

County Commission, Super District 6: In this district that covers the western half of DeKalb, three Democratic candidates were vying to replace retiring longtime Commission Kathie Gannon. There are no Republican candidates in the race.

In results that only included election day voting, political newcomer Maryam Ahmad was leading former Clarkston Mayor Ted Teddy and community advocate Emily Halevy.