School begins for more metro Atlanta students

Summer break officially ended Monday for more students in metro Atlanta schools.

Rockdale County schools started last Thursday and Cherokee, Henry,Spalding, Lamar  and Barrow counties and cities of

rome and Decatur schools began the school year today. Most systems open next Monday.

Cobb and Douglas counties and Buford city schools open Thursday. The remainder of the schedule:

-- Monday, Aug. 9: Atlanta city, Clayton, DeKalb, Fayette, Forsyth and Gwinnett counties.

-- Thursday, Aug. 12: Marietta city

-- Monday, Aug. 23: Fulton County