Powder Springs qualifying for mayoral, council seats starts Aug. 31

Qualifying for three Powder Springs positions on the Nov. 3 ballot will be 8:30 a.m. to 1 p.m. and 2 p.m. to 4:30 p.m. Aug. 31, Sept. 1 and Sept. 2 in the second floor conference room, City Hall, 4484 Marietta St.

The mayor’s position and two at-large City Council posts are up for election — now held by Mayor Patricia Vaughn, Councilwoman Rosalyn Neal and Councilman Chris Wizner, who all say they plan to seek re-election.

Councilman Al Thurman has announced he plans to run for mayor.

The qualifying fee is $360 for city council positions and $540 for mayor — based on 3 percent of their base salaries.

Candidates must be city residents since at least Nov. 3, 2014, reside in the city during their four years of service and be registered voters.

Information: CityOfPowderSprings.org/161/Qualifying, City Clerk Kelly Axt, kaxt@CityOfPowderSprings.org, 770-943-1666.