Clayton County voters approve $280 million SPLOST, ousts chief magistrate



A Clayton County Magistrate Judge lost her job and an incumbent school board member was forced into a runoff in a Tuesday election where most leaders easily kept their seats.

Incumbent Clayton Board of Education member Judy Johnson, a Democrat who won her District 7 school board post in 2012, will face fellow Democratic challenger Sabrina Hill in August after Hill won 41% of the vote to Johnson’s 37%. There are no Republicans vying for the seat.

In the race for chief magistrate, Democratic Judge Wanda Dallas was defeated by Democratic challenger Keisha Wright Hill 55% to 45%.

Voters in the south metro community also overwhelmingly approved a new five-year $280 million county SPLOST.

Overall, incumbents performed well in their races. Clayton County Commissioners Gail Hambry and Felicia Franklin Warner handily won their seats with more than 70% of the votes. School board chairwoman Jessie Goree and incumbent board of education member Mary Baker retained their posts.

The winners do not face Republican challengers in the heavily Democratic county.

Tax Commissioner Terry Baskin, Probate Court Judge Pamela Ferguson and State Court Judge Linda Cowen, all incumbents, won their contested races.