Eagles Landing community is being considered for cityhood. Photo by John Clowdus. The Atlanta Journal-Constitution
Photo: The Atlanta Journal-Constitution
Photo: The Atlanta Journal-Constitution

4 new cities proposed by Georgia legislators

No new cities will be created this year, but four municipalities may be considered by state lawmakers in 2018.

Legislators introduced bills to form the cities of Greenhaven in south DeKalb County, Eagle’s Landing in Henry County, Sharon Springs in Forsyth County and Skidaway Island in Chatham County.

Under a Senate rule enacted this year, proposals to incorporate cities must go through a two-year process. Only cityhood bills introduced this year will have a chance of passing next year.

The rule was put into place after 10 cities started up in metro Atlanta since 2005. 

The most recent cities, South Fulton and Stonecrest, held their first elections for mayor and city council last month. Runoffs are scheduled for April 18.

Efforts to establish the cities of Vista Grove or Prosperity appear unlikely to move forward. No legislators introduced bills incorporating those areas in DeKalb.

Support real journalism. Support local journalism. Subscribe to The Atlanta Journal-Constitution today. See offers.

Your subscription to the Atlanta Journal-Constitution funds in-depth reporting and investigations that keep you informed. Thank you for supporting real journalism.

Related Stories