Georgia election results: Voters embrace Trump and Isakson, reject Amendment 1

Isakson, a Republican, faced Democrat Jim Barksdale and Libertarian Allen Buckley on Tuesday. Isakson has led in public polling leading up to election night.

Millions of Georgia voters went to the polls this election to decide a presidential candidate, a U.S. senator, constitutional amendments and other local races and issues.

Donald J. Trump pulled off a stunning national victory and gathered enough electoral votes to become the next president of the United States. He carried the state of Georgia and its 16 electoral votes.

» How every neighborhood in metro Atlanta voted in the 2016 presidential election

Incumbent Sen. Johnny Isakson avoided a runoff and cruised to a third term in the U.S. Senate.

» AJC Election Results

Georgia voters largely rejected Amendment 1, which would have allowed the state to take over the worst performing schools. The Opportunity School District, championed by Gov. Nathan Deal, was opposed by six out of 10 votes. Read more: What now for school reform in Georgia, why did Opportunity School District plan fail?

Three other constitutional amendments were favored by wide margins: an overhaul of the Judicial Qualifications Commission, an assist to child victims of human trafficking and money for the state's trauma network. Read more: Three proposed constitutional amendments appear headed for wins

General Assembly: The first openly gay man was elected to the state House while former DeKalb County CEO Vernon Jones completed a political comeback, winning a seat in the Georgia House, where he once served for nearly a decade. Read more: Democrats win Georgia Senate seat, the House is largely a wash

City of Atlanta: Voters in the city of Atlanta overwhelmingly approved raising the sales tax to expand MARTA and pay for other transportation improvements.

A MARTA train at North Springs station on Georgia 400, the northernmost stop on the system’s Red Line. Credit Curtis Compton/CCOMPTON@AJC.COM

icon to expand image

New cities: Voters in south DeKalb agreed to create a city of Stonecrest between Decatur and Lithonia. Fulton County residents approved creation of the city of South Fulton in an unincorporated area south of Atlanta

Cobb County: Retired Marine Col. Mike Boyce became Cobb County Commission Chairman-elect. Cobb County Sheriff Neil Warren won his reelection bid, defeating Democratic challenger Gregory Gilstrap for a fourth time. In Marietta, voters approved term limits for mayor and city council

DeKalb County: Michael Thurmond, known most recently for his work to turn around DeKalb County schools, was elected Tuesday as DeKalb County CEO. easily defeating Republican Jack Lovelace. When he takes office in January, Thurmond will become the county's first elected chief executive in charge of the county in three and a half years.

Voters also re-elected DeKalb County Sheriff Jeff Mann, who first won office in a special election two years ago. South DeKalb will have a new city. Voters approved creating the new city of Stonecrest. The nine-way District 7 race for an open seat on the DeKalb County Board of Commissioners appears to be heading to a runoff between Greg Adams and Randall Mangham. DeKalb County voters also extended a property tax break that protects homeowners from having to pay more in county taxes when their properties gain value. Former DeKalb County CEO Vernon Jones completed a political comeback, winning a seat in the Georgia House, where he once served for nearly a decade. Read more: DeKalb County election results

Fulton County: Fulton County Sheriff Ted Jackson won re-election, and voters narrowly approved a referendum to increase sales tax to improve roads, bridges, sidewalks and other improvements. Residents also decided to create the City of South Fulton.

Gwinnett County: Voters in the state's second-largest county approved a 1-cent sales tax for roads, parks, libraries and other construction projects. Incumbent Republican Charlotte Nash defeated Democrat Jim Shealey by a margin of 53 percent to 47 percent in the race for commission chairman. Sam Park defeated state Rep. Valerie Clark, R-Lawrenceville, becoming the first openly gay man elected to the Georgia House of Representatives.