Candidates run for city posts

Election season has begun in metro cities -- though voters won't always be needed.

Cities ranging from Avondale Estates, population 2,800, to Georgia's newest, Dunwoody, population 40,000, will have no contested elections.

Johns Creek, Norcross and Lilburn have no contested races, either.

Residents had until Oct. 5 to register for the Nov. 3 election.

Early voting begins Oct. 12. Advance voting runs from Oct. 26 to 30. In DeKalb County, all special voting will be held at the county's main election office on Memorial Drive. After Oct. 30, voters must show up at their assigned precincts on Election Day to be counted.

Cities with contested races include those below.


Atlanta Mayor: Lisa Borders, Peter Brownlowe, Kyle Keyser, Mary Norwood, Kasim Reed, Jesse Spikes

City Council President: Ceasar Mitchell, Clair Muller, Dave Walker.

Council District 3: Darrion Fletcher, Ivory Young (i)

Council District 4: LaShawn M. Hoffman, Deborah Williams, Cleta Winslow (i), Sidney Wood

Council District 6: Bahareh Azizi, Steve Brodie, Tad Christian, Liz Coyle, Miguel Gallegos, Alex Wan

Council District 8: Yolanda Adrean, Richard (Rick) Coleman Jr.

Council District 11: Ray Abram, Keisha Lance Bottoms, Johnny Dixon, A. Reginald Eaves, Morris "Mo" Finley, Silas G. Kevil, Edith Ladipo, Juanita M. Smith, Alvelyn Sanders

Council District 12: Curtis Davis Jr, Joyce Sheperd (i), Keisha LaShawn Waites

Council At Large Post 1: Michael Julian Bond, Adam Brackman, Chris Vaughn, Dwanda Farmer

Council At Large Post 2: Amir Farohki, Weslee Knapp, Aaron Watson

Council At Large Post 3: Shelitha Robertson, Henry L. Willis (i)

Board of Education District 2: Donald Walker, Virgil S. Kendrick Jr., Khaatim Sherrer El (i)

Board of Education District 3: Cecily Harsch Kinnane(i), Charles R. Stadtlander

Board of Education District 4:Nancy Meister, Mark Riley (i)

Board of Education District 5: LaChandra Butler-Burks (i), Carolyn B. Jones

Board of Education District 6: Yolanda K. Johnson (i), Akwokwo Redhead, Anne Wofford McKenzie

Board of Education District 9 (At-Large): Emmett Johnson (i), Tony M.L. McCann


City Council Post 2: Mike Kennedy, Aubrey Osteen

Post 3: John R. Keim, Tom Miller, Chris Owens

Referendum: Relating to a change in homestead exemptions.


Council Ward 1: Austin Flint, Bob Rush

Council Ward 2: Bill Bryan (i), William Staub

Council Ward 5: Amy Turcotte, John Beresford


At-large City Council seat: Charles Rudd, Scott Taylor (I)

College Park

City Council Ward IV: Charles Phillips (I), April Wyatt


City Commission District 1 Post A: Fred Boykin (I), James E. Radford Jr.

District 2 Post A: Patti Garrett, Kyle Williams


City Council District 1: Stuart Anderson, John Noonan, Donna Pittman (I)

District 2: Brian Bates (I), Tom Hart

District 3: Virginia "Ginny" Calvert, Clint Howard, Karen Pachuta, Bob Spangler (I)

East Point

Mayor: Threet Brown, Joe Macon (I), Delana Morrissette, Earnestine Pittman

City Council Ward A: Greg Fann (I), Sharonda Hubbard, Craig Jeffares

Ward B: Patricia Langford (I), Eric Morrow

Ward C: Kenneth DeLeon, Marcel Reed (I)

Ward D: Staso Rusek, Jackie Slaughter-Gibbons (I)

Fayette County

Countywide referendum : Voters will decide whether to extend a Special Purpose Local Option Sales Tax (SPLOST). City elections also are being held in Peachtree City and Fayetteville.


City Council Post 5: Frank Cullins, Jeff Duckett


City Council Post 3: John Merrill, Doug Nash, Katie Hart Smith

Post 4: Rodney Lee Camren, P.K. Martin IV (I)


Mayor: William Roy Bolton III, Christopher Lee Neil, Raymond Stevens Tumlin Jr.

City Council Ward 3: Johnny Sinclair, Holly Marie Walquist (I)

City Council Ward 4: Wes Godwin, Irvan A. Pearlberg (I)

City Council Ward 5: Anthony C. Coleman (I), James Dodd, Christopher Wayne Johnson

School board Ward 1: Robert Dee Thanepohn, Logan McClure Weber

School board Ward 5: James Stuart Fleming, Douglas E. Martin

School board Ward 6: Thomas Cheater, Michelle Cooper Kelly

Ballot question: $25 million bond referendum to improve and expand city park system.


Mayor: Billy Copeland, Roger Pruitt, Susan Lowry Raven

City Council At Large post: Rufus F. "Sugar" Amis, Mike Crawford, R.J. "Gina" Riffey (i)

Peachtree City

Mayor: Don Haddix, Cyndi Plunkett, Scott Rowland


Mayor: Lori Henry, David Tolleson, Jere Wood (I)

City Council Post 3 (special election): Betty Price, Craig Voth

Post 4: Kent Igleheart (I), Jim Pollak

Post 5: Lee Fleck, Jerry Orlans (I)

Post 6: Nancy Diamond, Alex Fudali, James D. Hargreaves

Sandy Springs

Mayor: Donnie Bolena Jr., Bob Brown, Eva Galambos (I), Warren James Hull

City Council District 1: John Paulson, Wilson James Squire III

District 3: Willis W. Cleveland, William C. Collins

District 5: Tibby DeJulio (I), Deborah Hull


Mayor: R.G. "Rudy" Kelley, Lee Stuart

City Council: Mark A. Alarcon, Harold L. Cochran, Vernon Moss, Charles Reid, Alphonso Thomas


City Council Post 3: Robert Jenkins (I), Tom Witts

Post 4: Barbara Bender (I), Niria Dominguez Baggett

Post 5: Jackie O. Ginn, Mike Sabbagh

Sugar Hill

Mayor: Gary Pirkle (I), Andy Sudderth

City Council Post 4: Curtis Northrup, Shohn Tanner

Post 5: Scott Pasell, Mike Sullivan (I)


City Council Post 3: Kevin McOmber (I), Don Trawick

Post 4: Bradley Alexander, Jace Brooks (I)

Post 5: Dan Foster (I)

Stone Mountain

Voters will decide whether to approve a new city charter that changes city government from being run by a strong mayor to one headed by a city manager.

Mayor: Sharon D. Frierson, Beverly R. Jones, Patricia "Pat" Wheeler

City council (three seats): Susan S. Coletti (I), Steve Higgins (I), Paul S. Hollis, Nan Odum Nash, Robert Smith


City Council Ward 1: Randy Brewer (i), Warren Johnson

Staff writers Shane Blatt, Ralph Ellis and Brian O'Shea contributed to this report.

Helpful information for voters

Find your votiing place and the districts in which you vote from the Georgia Secretary of State.

Find answers to questions about when and where to vote , including early voting information.