Wanda Jackson casts her vote at the Best Friend Park precinct at 6224 Jimmy Carter Boulevard in Norcross on Tuesday, March 19, 2019. JOHN SPINK/JSPINK@AJC.COM

Election runoffs set for April 16

Voters in parts of Atlanta and Cherokee County will settle runoff elections on Tuesday, April 16.

The races for Atlanta City Council District 3 and Cherokee County Commission District 3 require runoffs because no candidate received the required 50 percent of the vote in the special election on March 19.

> RELATED: Results from the March 19 special election in metro Atlanta

> RELATED: Map of the Gwinnett MARTA referendum results by location

On the ballot

Atlanta City Council, District 3: Byron Amos will face the second-place finisher, Antonio Brown. The third-place finisher, Greg Clay, requested a recount but the results of the recount did not change the outcome. 

Cherokee County Commission, District 3: Benny Carter and Kenny Phelps will meet in a runoff. They were the top finishers among four candidates to replace Commissioner Bob Kovacs, who resigned.

Who may vote?

To vote, you must be registered. Eligible registered voters must also live in the district where the vote is taking place. To confirm that you are registered, check with your county elections office, or go online to the Georgia Elections Office overseen by Georgia's Secretary of State. 

Support real journalism. Support local journalism. Subscribe to The Atlanta Journal-Constitution today. See offers.

Your subscription to the Atlanta Journal-Constitution funds in-depth reporting and investigations that keep you informed. Thank you for supporting real journalism.