With ACC honors, historic day for Georgia Tech

It has been a historic season for Georgia Tech, and the ACC awards announced Sunday indicate it.

With center Ben Lammers (defensive player of the year, second-team All-ACC, all-defensive team) and guard Josh Okogie (all-freshman) team and coach Josh Pastner being named coach of the year, it was the first time since the 2001-02 season that three members of the Tech team (including the coach) were named an ACC award winner or to an honorary team. That season, Tony Akins was named second-team All-ACC, Ed Nelson was named freshman of the year and B.J. Elder joined Nelson on the all-freshman team.

The last time Tech had two members of the team honored singularly was 1996, when coach Bobby Cremins was the conference's coach of the year and Stephon Marbury was freshman of the year. It has happened two other times in school history, 1985 (Mark Price was player of the year, Duane Ferrell was freshman of the year and Cremins was coach of the year) and 1990 (Dennis Scott was player of the year and Kenny Anderson was freshman of the year).

The ACC used a new format for selecting its All-ACC teams, player of the year and the other awards and all-star teams. Rather than having honors chosen by media (as has been done since the league's inception) and another by coaches (since the 2012-13 season), the conference gave each school four votes, one given to the coach, another to a member of the school's radio broadcast team and two to media members.







About the Author