Martinez crowned MLS Golden Boot winner

Atlanta United's Josef Martinez was confirmed as Golden Boot winner as the leading goal-scorer in MLS following Sunday's 4-1 loss at Toronto. He will likely be presented with the trophy at next season's first home game.

Martinez set a league single-season record with 31 goals, including one on a penalty kick in Sunday’s game.

The Venezuelan is also the front-runner to be named the league’s MVP, which will be rewarded in early December.

Martinez was obviously difficult for defenders to stop because he was an all-around scorer. He put in seven with his right foot, six with his left, 10 with his head and eight more from penalty kicks.

He also scored in bunches, adding three hat tricks this season to set the league’s career record for hat tricks (6).

Before Sunday’s game, among other league career marks he holds, Martinez is leads in goals per game (0.93) and goals per 90 minutes (1.04).


2018, Josef Martinez, Atlanta United, 31

2017, Nemanja Nikolic, Chicago, 24

2016 Bradley Wright-Phillips, New York Red Bulls, 24

2015 Sebastian Giovinco, Toronto, 22

2014 Bradley Wright-Phillips, New York Red Bulls, 27

2013 Camilo Sanvezzo, Vancouver, 22

2012 Chris Wondolowski, San Jose, 27

2011 Dwayne De Rosario, D.C. United, 16

2010 Chris Wondolowski, San Jose, 18

2009 Jeff Cunningham, Dallas, 17

2008 Landon Donovan, L.A. Galaxy, 20

2007 Luciano Emilio, D.C. United, 20

2006 Jeff Cunningham, Real Salt Lake, 16

2005 Taylor Twellman, New England, 17


Follow me on twitter @DougRobersonAJC

On Facebook at Atlanta United News Now

Have a question? Email me at