Football moves: South Gwinnett, Alexander coaches resign; North Springs makes hire

Credit: Jason Getz

Credit: Jason Getz

Football coaches at South Gwinnett, Alexander and most notably Blessed Trinity resigned this week, bringing to 38 the number of reported job openings this offseason.

South Gwinnett’s Steve Davenport stepped down after four seasons at the Gwinnett County school where his teams were 16-26 over four seasons, including a 5-5 finish in 2020. Davenport, a former Southwest DeKalb and Georgia Tech player, has an 81-59 career record and reached quarterfinals or better previously at Decatur and Woodland of Stockbridge.

Alexander’s Matt Combs resigned after 11 seasons in Douglas County. His teams were 63-56 with seven playoff appearances. His 2020 team was 6-4. Combs, originally from Arizona, said he wanted to devote more time to family and doesn’t expect to coach next season.

Blessed Trinity’s Tim McFarlin resigned Thursday morning after 10 seasons, three of which ended in state titles (2017, 2018, 2019).

Only four of the 38 have been filled official. The most recent took place at North Springs, which hired Etowah defensive coordinator Dan Devine.

Also newsworthy this week was Christian Heritage’s hire of Hal Lamb to become athletic director of development Lamb retired two seasons ago after a long career as football coach at Calhoun, where he won three state titles. Christian Heritage is a Class A school in Dalton.

Below are 38 head coaching openings with their former coach and hires. This does not include East Forsyth, which will open in the fall.

Alexander - Former coach: Matt Combs

Appling County - Rick Tomberlin

Banneker - Former coach: Lou George

Blessed Trinity - Former coach: Tim McFarlin

Crawford County - Former coach: Jhon Smith

Dalton - Former coach: Matt Land

Eagle’s Landing - Former coach: Shawn Jones

Effingham County - Former coach: Buddy Holder

Fellowship Christian - Former coach: Al Morrell

Gilmer - Former coach: Kevin Saunders

Hardaway - Former coach: Michael Woolridge

Harrison - Former coach: Matt Dickmann

Heard County - Former coach: Tim Barron; New coach: Shane Lasseter

Jordan - Former coach: Joseph Kegler

Lamar County - Former coach: Jeff Sloan

Landmark Christian - Former coach: Mike Sherrard

Locust Grove - Former coach: Clint Satterfield

Long County - Former coach: John Pollock

McDonough - Former coach: Eric Solomon

Monroe - Former coach: Charles Truitt

Monticello - Former coach: Roderick Jackson

Morgan County - Former coach: Bill Malone

North Springs - Former coach: Scotty Parker. New coach: Dan Devine

Oglethrope County - Former coach: Ronnie Harris

Osborne - Former coach: Russell Isham

Pickens - Former coach: Jeff Nelson

Rockdale County - Former coach: Derek Coggin

Seminole County - Former coach: Trey Woolf

South Cobb - Former coach: Terry Jones

South Forsyth - Former coach: Jeff Arnette. New coach: Troy Morris

South Gwinnett - Former coach: Steve Davenport

Stockbridge - Former coach: Steve Boyd

Tift County - Former coach: Ashley Anders

Villa Rica - Former coach: Christian Hunnicutt. New coach: Tim Barron

Walker - Former coach: Aaron Dobbins

Westside (Augusta) - Former coach: Jon Wiley

Woodland (Stockbridge) - Former coach: Bryan Bailey

Woodstock - Former coach: Brent Budde