2019 Masters field at near record low

The 2019 Masters Tournament field stands at 80 players and is likely to stay well below 100 when play starts Thursday, April 11 at Augusta National Golf Club.

Last year’s field of 87 players was the smallest in 21 years. The Masters hasn’t broken 100 since 103 players teed up in 1966. The 2015 Masters field came closest with 98 qualifiers.

The Masters — an invitation only event — traditionally has the smallest field of golf’s majors. Players qualify through one of 18 categories or through special exemption.

Some player invitations have been making appearances on social media.

View this post on Instagram

Yes I will @themasters !!!👍🏻😉🔥😎

A post shared by Jimmy Walker (@jimmywalkerpga) on

Recommended for you

Recommended for you

Recommended for you

Most read

  1. 1 R Kelly charged with 10 counts of aggravated sexual abuse
  2. 2 Patriots owner Robert Kraft charged in prostitution bust
  3. 3 The banking capital that Georgia lawmakers created -- in Charlotte

Shugo Imahira of Japan has been awarded a special invitation to play in the Masters. Imahira won the Bridgestone Open on the Japan Golf Tour and is ranked No. 53 in the world. Special invitations are typically reserved for international players who do not have full PGA Tour status. 

This is the second straight year Augusta National has given out a special invitation.

Here are the list of players (in alphabetical order) who have so far qualified for the 83rd Masters Tournament:

Kiradech Aphibarnrat 

Rafa Cabrera Bello 

Lucas Bjerregaard 

Keegan Bradley 

Angel Cabrera 

Patrick Cantlay 

Paul Casey 

Stewart Cink 

Fred Couples 

Jason Day 

Bryson DeChambeau 

Tony Finau 

Matthew Fitzpatrick 

Tommy Fleetwood 

Rickie Fowler 

Sergio Garcia 

Branden Grace 

Emiliano Grillo 

Tyrrell Hatton 

Charley Hoffman 

Billy Horschel 

Viktor Hovland 

Charles Howell III 

Shugo Imahira

Trevor Immelman 

Dustin Johnson 

Zach Johnson 

Takumi Kanaya 

Martin Kaymer 

Michael Kim 

Si-Woo Kim 

Kevin Kisner 

Patton Kizzire 

Satoshi Kodaira 

Brooks Koepka 

Matt Kuchar 

Andrew Landry 

Bernhard Langer 

Marc Leishman 

Haotong Li 

Sandy Lyle 

Hideki Matsuyama 

Rory McIlroy 

Phil Mickelson 

Larry Mize 

Francesco Molinari 

Kevin Na 

Alex Noren 

Kevin O'Connell 

Jose Maria Olazabal 

Thorbjorn Olsen 

Mark O’Meara 

Louis Oosthuizen 

Eddie Pepperrell 

Ian Poulter 

Jon Rahm 

Jovan Rebula 

Patrick Reed 

Justin Rose 

Xander Schauffele 

Charl Schwartzel 

Adam Scott 

Webb Simpson 

Vijay Singh 

Cameron Smith 

Brandt Snedeker 

Jordan Spieth 

Kyle Stanley 

Henrik Stenson 

Justin Thomas 

Kevin Tway 

Jimmy Walker 

Matt Wallace 

Bubba Watson 

Mike Weir 

Danny Willett 

Aaron Wise 

Gary Woodland 

Tiger Woods 

Ian Woosnam

More from AJC