Earlier this year, the Atlanta Falcons and Roddy White announced the team's all-time leading receiver would enter the team's Ring of Honor.

The first such ceremony at Mercedes-Benz Stadium.

White was selected by the Falcons in the first round (27th overall) of the 2005 NFL draft from Alabama-Birmingham. He amassed 808 catches, 10,863 yards and 63 touchdowns over 11 seasons with the Falcons.

White's induction ceremony is planned for Dec. 8, when the team faces the Carolina Panthers at Mercedes-Benz Stadium.

The Falcons have held six enshrinement ceremonies for 10 players since 2004.

The first class of four members — running back William Andrews, quarterback  Steve Bartkowski, and linebackers Tommy Nobbis and Jessie Tuggle — was inducted in 2004. Jeff Van Note was added in 2006. Mike Kenn and Claude Humphrey became members in 2008, followed by Deion Sanders in 2010 and Gerald Riggs in ’13.

Warrick Dunn was the last player to go in the Ring of Honor in 2017.

White will be only the 11th member — and the first wide receiver — to join the exclusive group. Running backs outnumber all other position groups. Here's the breakdown:
Quarterbacks: Bartkowski
Running backs: Andrews, Riggs and Dunn
Offensive line: Van Note (center) and Kenn (tackle)
Linebackers: Nobis and Tuggle
Defensive line: Humphrey
Defensive backs: Sanders

Of the 10 members of the Falcons' Ring of Honor, only Humphrey and Sanders have been enshrined in Canton's Pro Football Hall of Fame.

In Other News