Paul Johnson among 19 coaches on Dodd Trophy watch list

Georgia Tech coach Paul Johnson is among 19 coaches announced Wednesday on the watch list for the 2017 Dodd Trophy.

Named after Bobby Dodd, the winningest coach in Georgia Tech history, the Dodd Trophy celebrates the head coach of a team that enjoys success on the gridiron while also stressing the importance of scholarship, leadership and integrity.

Johnson is entering his 10th season at Georgia Tech, having amassed 70 wins with the Yellow Jackets. Only Dodd won more games (82) in his first nine seasons on The Flats.

Johnson won the Dodd Trophy in 2004 while the head coach at Navy.

The winner will be announced in Atlanta ahead of the 2017 Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl, which will be played Jan. 1, 2018, at the new Mercedes-Benz Stadium.


Paul Chryst, Wisconsin

James Franklin, Penn State

Justin Fuente, Virginia Tech

Mike Gundy, Oklahoma State

Jim Harbaugh, Michigan

Clay Helton, Southern California

Paul Johnson, Georgia Tech

Butch Jones, Tennessee

Gus Malzahn, Auburn

Jim McElwain, Florida

Urban Meyer, Ohio State

Ken Niumatalolo, Navy

Chris Petersen, Washington

Mark Richt, Miami

Nick Saban, Alabama

David Shaw, Stanford

Bill Snyder, Kansas State

Dabo Swinney, Clemson

Kyle Whittingham, Utah