A look back at other Georgia teams to reach 7-0

(Photo by Sam Greenwood/Getty Images)

Credit: Sam Greenwood

Credit: Sam Greenwood

(Photo by Sam Greenwood/Getty Images)

As the Georgia Bulldogs prepare for their annual renewal of the World’s Largest Outdoor Cocktail Party, against Florida in Jacksonville on Saturday, the Dogs enter the game undefeated at 7-0.

Georgia is 7-0 record for the 10th time in program history, the third since 1982.

The past two times Georgia reached 7-0, its first loss came against Florida.

Here are the nine other times Georgia reached 7-0:

2005: Georgia won its first seven games before it faced Florida in Jacksonville, the site of many recent heartaches. That day, the Gators prevailed 14-10. Georgia finished the season 10-3, defeating LSU in the SEC Championship game and losing to West Virginia in the Sugar Bowl at the Georgia Dome. The bowl game was moved to Atlanta because of damage done to the Superdome by Hurricane Katrina.

2002: Georgia won its first eight games before it faced Florida in Jacksonville. Against the Gators, Georgia lost 20-13. However, the Bulldogs didn't lose again that season, finishing 13-1 with an SEC title-game victory against Arkansas and a Sugar Bowl victory against Florida State.

1982: Georgia won all 11 regular-season games and went to the Sugar Bowl ranked No. 1 in the country, but the Bulldogs lost to Penn State 27-23 in Herschel Walker's final game for the Dogs.

1980: Georgia won all 12 it played that season, when the freshman Herschel Walker led Georgia to its first consensus national championship, including a 17-10 victory against Notre Dame in the Sugar Bowl. That was the last time Georgia played Notre Dame until the teams met last month in South Bend.

1971: Georgia won its first nine games before it played host to Auburn and the soon-to-be Heisman Trophy-winner Pat Sullivan. The Tigers prevailed that day 35-20. Georgia went on to defeat North Carolina in the Gator Bowl 7-3 and finished 11-1. That bowl game pitted longtime Georgia coach Vince Dooley against his brother, UNC coach Bill Dooley.

1946: Georgia won all 11 games it played that season, which ended with a 20-10 Bulldogs victory against North Carolina in the Sugar Bowl. That game featured two of college football great running backs, Charley Trippi of Georgia and Charlie "Choo Choo" Justice of North Carolina. With the win, Georgia was chosen national champion in the Williamson poll.

1942: Georgia won its first nine games before facing Auburn when the series was played annually in Columbus. The Tigers won 27-13. Georgia won its next two games to finish 11-1. The final game was a 9-0 victory against UCLA in the Rose Bowl. The Bulldogs' Frank Sinkwich won the Heisman Trophy that season.

1933: Georgia won its first seven games before losing to Auburn 14-6 in Columbus. The Bulldogs won their remaining two games, including a 31-0 loss at USC in the season finale in Los Angeles. UGA finished with an 8-2 record.

1927: Georgia won its first nine games before losing the season finale to Georgia Tech at Grant Field 12-0. Despite the loss, Georgia was chosen national champion by two polls, the Poling and the Boand.