Joe Hamilton makes hall of fame

Georgia Tech legend Joe Hamilton has earned college football’s highest honor – induction into the College Football Hall of Fame.

Hamilton was named to the 16-member class consisting of 14 players and two coaches. He is the 13th Tech player to be inducted and the first quarterback. Tech’s inductees also include coaches John Heisman, William Alexander and Bobby Dodd.

Prior to the announcement, Hamilton had repeatedly said he held no expectations over induction, as being part of the ballot was honor enough. He said that being named to the hall would be “icing on the cake.”

After the announcement, Hamilton sent the following message from his Twitter account:

“Honored. Humbled. Thank you god, every coach and teammate and the Georgia Institute of Technology!!! From Alvin SC to Hall of Fame!”

Hamilton will be enshrined at the National Football Foundation awards dinner Dec. 9 in New York.

The entire class:


Drey Bly, North Carolina, 1996-98

Tony Boselli, Southern California, 1991-94

Dave Butz, Purdue, 1970-72

Shane Conlan, Penn State, 1983-86

Joe Hamilton, Georgia Tech, 1996-99

John Huard, Maine, 1964-66

Darrin Nelson, Stanford, 1977-78, 1980-81

Willie Roaf, Louisiana Tech, 1990-92

John Sciarra, UCLA, 1972-75

Sterling Sharpe, South Carolina, 1983, 1985-87

Leonard Smith, McNeese State, 1979-82

Derrick Thomas (deceased), Alabama, 1985-88

LaDainian Tomlinson, Texas Christian, 1997-2000

Wesley Walls, Mississippi, 1985-88


Mike Bellott, Chico State, 1984-88, Oregon, 1995-2008

Jerry Moore, North Texas, 1979-80, Texas Tech, 1981-85, Appalachian State, 1989-2012