1. A first-round pick in 1974, Dale Murphy spent 15 seasons in Atlanta

Dale Murphy on veterans’ committee ballot for Hall of Fame

Former Brave Dale Murphy is one of 10 on the Modern Baseball Era ballot for the National Baseball Hall of Fame Class of 2020, it was announced Monday.

Murphy, the two time National League MVP, is one of nine players and one executive that comprise the ballot, which will be voted on Dec. 8 at the Baseball Winter Meetings in San Diego. He is joined by Dwight Evans, Steve Garvey, Tommy John, Don Mattingly, Marvin Miller, Thurman Munson, Dave Parker, Ted Simmons and Lou Whitaker on the ballot.

Any candidate who receives votes on 75 percent of the ballots cast by the 16-member Modern Baseball Era Committee, known as the veterans’ committee, will earn election to the Hall of Fame and will be inducted in Cooperstown on July 26, 2020. They will be joined by any electees from the 2020 Baseball Writers’ Association of America election, to be announced on Jan. 21, 2020. 

Murphy played 18 seasons with the Braves, Phillies and Rockies, winning back-to-back NL MVPs in 1982 and 1983. Roger Maris and Murphy are the only players to win consecutive MVPs and not gain Hall of Fame enshrinement after becoming eligible. A seven-time All-Star, Murphy won five Gold Glove Awards and four Silver Slugger Awards in center field. Murphy finished his career with a .265 batting average with 398 home runs and 1,266 RBIs. 

Support real journalism. Support local journalism. Subscribe to The Atlanta Journal-Constitution today. See offers.

Your subscription to the Atlanta Journal-Constitution funds in-depth reporting and investigations that keep you informed. Thank you for supporting real journalism.