Panel named to study Georgia transit

House Speaker David Ralston, R-Blue Ridge, announced Thursday the members of the House Commission on Transit Governance & Funding. 

The panel will study the state’s existing transit infrastructure and its future needs. It will also explore ways to pay for transit expansion. 

“Transit is becoming more and more important to Georgia’s future,” Ralston said in a statement. “From congestion relief to economic development, a robust transit network across our state will have long-term benefits for our citizens.”

House members appointed to the commission are:

Recommended for you

Recommended for you

Recommended for you

Most read

  1. 1 Atlanta prepared for Super Bowl, yet unexpected always awaits metro ar
  2. 2 Atlanta Falcons’ Calvin Ridley victim of car theft at gas station
  3. 3 Falcons fans find something to cheer about in Super Bowl matchup

Four members come from transit systems or counties that provide mass transit. They are: 

  • Liz Hausmann, Fulton County commissioner
  • Curtis Kolber, CEO, Chatham Area Transit
  • Butch McDuffie, director, Athens Transit System
  • Charlotte Nash, chair, Gwinnett County Commission

Also appointed were four state residents: 

  • Brian Anderson Sr., president, Greater Columbus Chamber of Commerce
  • Rhonda Briggins, president, Georgia Transit Association
  • Sen. Butch Miller, R-Gainesville
  • Bob Ott, Cobb County commissioner

The leaders of MARTA, Georgia DOT and the state Regional Transportation Authority will serve as ex-officio members. 

More from AJC