Members of the Marietta Board of Education (L-R) are Randy Weiner, Chair Jason Waters, Angela Orange, Vice Chair Allison Gruehn, Alan Levine, Kerry Minervini and Irene Berens. (Courtesy of Marietta City Schools)

Marietta City Schools Board elects officers

The Marietta Board of Education unanimously voted recently to elect Jason Waters as chair and Allison Gruehn as vice chair to serve for one year.

Waters, a Cobb County native, was elected to the board in 2013 and was re-elected in 2017.

Gruehn, a 1991 graduate of Marietta High School, first joined the board in 2015 and was re-elected in 2017, representing Ward 4.

Board member Angela Orange will serve as the district’s Legislative Liaison.

Orange also will work closely with the Georgia School Board Association to better understand legislative policies that may impact the district.

For a second year, board member Kerry Minervini will continue as the board’s liaison to the Marietta Schools Foundation.


Support real journalism. Support local journalism. Subscribe to The Atlanta Journal-Constitution today. See offers.

Your subscription to the Atlanta Journal-Constitution funds in-depth reporting and investigations that keep you informed. Thank you for supporting real journalism.