Long list of incumbents facing challengers in Clayton County in June

The race for Clayton commissioner for District 3 is the hot contest in the south metro Atlanta county on June 9.

Four people are vying to unseat District 3 Commissioner Felicia Franklin Warner, including Robert Williams, Timothy Vondell Jefferson, Jodie Chambers, and Gerrian Hawes.

Explore AJC ELECTION COVERAGE: Review local races for June 9

The race is one of several contests where incumbents, such as Clayton Board of Education Chairwoman Jessie Goree, have competition for their positions. Other incumbents in competitve races are District 2 County Commissioner Gail Hambrick, District 2 school board member Judy Johnson, and District 6 school board member Mary Baker.

Here are the competitive races:

Probate Court Judge: Pamela P. Ferguson (I), Christopher Walker

Tax Commissioner: Terry L. Baskin (I), Ashley Wright

Chief Magistrate Judge: Wanda L. Dallas (I), Keisha Wright Hill

County Commission, District 2: Gail Hambrick (I), Robb Leatherwood, and Robert Johnson

County Commission, District 3: Felicia Franklin Warner (I), Robert Williams, Gerrian Savelle Hawes, Timothy Vondell Jefferson, and Jodie Chambers $618.19

Board of Education, District 3: Jessie Goree (I), Conquella Essex

Board of Education, District 6: Charlton L. Bivins, Barbara Pulliam, and Mary L. Baker (I)

Board of Education, District 7: Chasity Latrice Thornhill, Judy Johnson (I), and Sabrina Hill

State Court Judge: Linda Sharpe Cowen (I) Leslie Miller Terry