Fayette schools withdraw 15 students

After months of efforts to verify the residency of all its enrolled students, Fayette County ultimately withdrew 15 students from eight of its elementary through high schools in mid-December.

Audrey Toney, director of student services, told the Board of Education on Monday that several more students were voluntarily withdrawn by their parents just before the system’s Dec. 16 deadline for verification. Toney’s report was broken down by school, gender and ethnicity. The affected students were at Fayetteville, North Fayetteville and Sara Harp Minter elementary, Flat Rock and Whitewater middle and Fayette County, McIntosh and Sandy Creek high schools.

Fayette currently has 20,081 students enrolled.