Fayette County reappointed four members of the Transportation Committee, but will re-examine whether commissioners should serve. Courtesy Fayette County

Fayette County to re-examine transportation committee

Despite reappointing two of its members to the Fayette County Transportation Committee, the Board of Commissioners plans to re-examine whether or not elected officials should serve on that body.

The board voted 4-1 on April 11 to approve board chair Randy Ognio and commissioner Chuck Oddo for new terms on the committee through March 2022. The board also reappointed staff members Phil Mallon and Carlos Christian to the 11-member committee, which also includes citizens and representatives from other parts of the county. However, commissioner Eric Maxwell questioned whether any of the board members should serve on the committee, citing concerns about undue influence. Ognio said that having commissioners on the committee seems to have improved relationships between the county, the Atlanta Regional Commission and the Georgia Department of Transportation.

The board agreed to revisit the issue and other provisions in the ordinance that directs the committee, possibly in July.

Support real journalism. Support local journalism. Subscribe to The Atlanta Journal-Constitution today. See offers.

Your subscription to the Atlanta Journal-Constitution funds in-depth reporting and investigations that keep you informed. Thank you for supporting real journalism.