Palmer Middle School counselor Barbara Truluck was named the Georgia Counselor of the Year.
Photo: Cobb County School District
Photo: Cobb County School District

Cobb educator named Georgia counselor of the year

A Cobb County School District educator has been recognized by her statewide peers for her support of students and passion for her profession. 

Palmer Middle School counselor Barbara Truluck has been named Georgia’s 2019 Counselor of the Year, the school district said.

Truluck was surprised Tuesday with the honor when Superintendent Chris Ragsdale, Cobb County School District staff members and Georgia School Counselor Association members visited the Kennesaw school to unveil the award. 

Palmer Middle School assistant principal Bradley Blackman said Truluck’s enthusiasm can be felt throughout the school. She is “constantly looking for ways to support students and leave a lasting impact on their lives,” he added.

Superintendent Chris Ragsdale with Barbara Truluck.
Photo: Cobb County School District

Truluck was also praised by fellow Palmer counselor Lauren Holland, who referred to the counselor of the year as a steady source of support for everyone at the school.

“In her solution-driven, but kind approach, Barbara can be witnessed day in and day out impacting the lives of all students both directly and indirectly,” Holland said. 

READCobb County names 2019-2020 teacher of the year

Sherri Hill, the district’s chief school leadership officer, attended the celebration at Palmer Middle School in honor of Truluck. The spotlight was soon turned on her when Georgia School Counselor Association President Maria Grovner named Hill its Advocate of the Year award winner. Cobb County School Board member Brad Wheeler previously won the award in 2017. 

Sherri Hill, left, was named Advocate of the Year by the Georgia School Counselors Association.
Photo: Cobb County School District

Other Cobb educators honored with awards from the GSCA include Cobb Horizon High School counselor Ebony Payno, who was named Writer of the Year, and Acworth Elementary School counselor Nadia Rosen, who was honored with the  Emerging School Counselor Leader award. 

All the Georgia School Counselor of the Year Award winners and semifinalists will be honored and formally recognized Nov. 15 at the annual GSCA conference in Augusta. 

Like Cobb County News Now on Facebook | Follow us on Twitter 

Support real journalism. Support local journalism. Subscribe to The Atlanta Journal-Constitution today. See offers.

Your subscription to the Atlanta Journal-Constitution funds in-depth reporting and investigations that keep you informed. Thank you for supporting real journalism.