Cobb officials work to reduce COVID-19 exposure during early voting

Several procedures announced Monday to reduce COVID-19 exposure to residents and poll workers will be implemented by Cobb County elections officials when early voting begins next week.

Early voting starts May 18 at Cobb County Elections and Voter Registration Office at 736 Whitlock Avenue in Marietta.

The primary will help determine the Democratic and Republican candidates for U.S. president, U.S. Senate, state house and senate, county commission, sheriff and district attorney races.

Elections Director Janine Eveler said the department will take several steps to ensure social distancing guidelines are followed, including marking the floor with tape that’s spaced six feet apart, spreading out voting booths and using glass or plastic partitions to protect workers from potential exposure. Poll workers will also be given masks and gloves to carry out their duties.

When early voting starts Monday at the main office, Eveler said staff will assign a number to voters who will be asked to wait in their vehicles before voting. When a voter’s number is called, they will be allowed to line up six feet apart.

Residents will be asked to stand six feet apart while checking in and can only approach the poll worker to provide identification, Eveler said.

Each voter will be given an access card and stylus used to cast their ballots. Both of those items will be cleaned between uses. Eveler also said disinfectant spray, alcohol wipes for the touch-screens and hand sanitizer will be on hand at the polling place.

Early voting locations, dates and times at the Elections Office headquarters are: 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. May 18-22; 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. May 26-29; 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. Saturday, May 30; and 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. June 1-5.

Early voting will also be held 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. June 1-5 at the following satellite locations:

  • North Cobb Senior Center, 3900 S. Main Street, Acworth
  • Riverside EpiCenter, 135 Riverside Parkway, Austell
  • East Cobb Government Service Center, 4400 Lower Roswell Road, Marietta
  • West Cobb Senior Center, 4915 Dallas Highway, Powder Springs.

If you’d rather vote by mail, you can obtain more information and an application by visiting or calling 770-528-2581.

No voting will be held on Memorial Day (May 25) or Monday, June 8. Residents will have to vote at their assigned precincts on Election Day. Polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. You can visit the Secretary of State My Voter Page at for your precinct information.