The Cobb County Board of Education includes two new members - both Democrats. They are (L-R, front row) Dr. Jaha Howard and Charisse Davis with David Morgan and David Banks. On the back row are (L-R) Randy Scamihorn, Vice-Chair Brad Wheeler, Chair David Chastain and Superintendent Chris Ragsdale (Courtesy of Cobb County School District)

Cobb Board of Education elects officers

The Cobb County Board of Education recently elected its new chair and vice-chair.

That decision followed a failed attempt by board member David Banks to keep the same officers this calendar year that would change a board rule, prohibiting the chair from being elected to serve a consecutive term.

Brad Wheeler and David Chastain switched places from the posts they held last year so that now Chastain is the chair and Wheeler is the vice-chair again.

Randy Scamihorn, Wheeler, Banks and Chastain backed Chastain for chair and Wheeler for vice-chair.

David Morgan, Dr. Jaha Howard and Charisse Davis voted for Davis for chair and then vice-chair.


Support real journalism. Support local journalism. Subscribe to The Atlanta Journal-Constitution today. See offers.

Your subscription to the Atlanta Journal-Constitution funds in-depth reporting and investigations that keep you informed. Thank you for supporting real journalism.