Douglas County Board of Education members were honored for their service as part of School Board Appreciation Week in March. Pictured left to right are Tracy Rookard, Chair; Michelle Simmons, Vice Chair; Devetrion Caldwell; D.T. Jackson; Jeff Morris; and Superintendent Trent North.

Bragbook for April 26

Marc Collins of Lilburn, a Norcross High School senior and Barbara Kincaid of Marietta, a Sprayberry High School senior are the two recipients of Oglethorpe University’s annual four-year, full-tuition OU Theatre Scholarship.

C-SPAN recently announced winners in its national 2019 StudentCam competition. Caitlyn Pinsker, a student at The Alfred and Adele Davis Academy in Atlanta, has won an honorable mention prize and will receive $250 for the documentary, “Healthcare and America’s Well-Being: Being American and Its Effect on Americans’ Health.” Michael Fu, Kamen Iliev and Avinash Palliyil, students at Walton High School in Marietta, have won an honorable mention prize and will receive $250 for the documentary, “The American Dream: Fact or Fiction.”

Ten female University of North Georgia students who demonstrate outstanding leadership skills were honored March 3 during the annual Women of UNG Leadership Luncheon. The event on UNG’s Dahlonega Campus marked the beginning of Women’s History Month. The student leaders included: Madison Black from Suwanee, Emilie Bertsch from Cumming, Wakeitha Cunningham and Melissa Silva from Gainesville, Coral Montalvo from Lawrenceville, Renee Vanhorn from Marietta and Laura Rodes from Sharpsburg.

Support real journalism. Support local journalism. Subscribe to The Atlanta Journal-Constitution today. See offers.

Your subscription to the Atlanta Journal-Constitution funds in-depth reporting and investigations that keep you informed. Thank you for supporting real journalism.