Atlanta weather | Schools close for 5th day

Some students may forget what school is, due to icy roads making reading and writing too risky again Friday.

Among the school districts that will be closed:

  • Atlanta city
  • Barrow County
  • Bartow County
  • Buford city
  • Carroll County
  • Cartersville city
  • Cherokee County
  • Clayton County
  • Cobb County
  • Coweta County
  • Decatur city
  • DeKalb County
  • Douglas County
  • Fayette County
  • Forsyth County
  • Fulton County
  • Gainesville city
  • Gwinnett County
  • Hall County
  • Henry County
  • Marietta city
  • Newton County
  • Paulding County
  • Rockdale County
  • Walton County

Emory University will be open, but no classes will be held, a spokeswoman told the AJC.

Return to for updates throughout the day.

For up-to-the minute school closings, go to