Georgia’s state Capitol
Photo: The Atlanta Journal-Constitution
Photo: The Atlanta Journal-Constitution

3 Republican primaries for Gwinnett House seats heading to runoffs

Three Republican primaries for Gwinnett-based state House seats appear headed for runoffs. 

By Georgia law, if one candidate in a race does not get at least 50 percent of the vote, that race heads to a runoff between the top two vote-getters. This year, primary runoffs are scheduled for July 24. 

The following House hopefuls from Gwinnett will be on the GOP ballot again: 

  • In Duluth-based District 97, attorney Bonnie Rich took the most votes in a six-candidate race to replace longtime legislator Brooks Coleman — but she couldn’t eclipse the 50 percent mark. Kipper Tabb was the second-highest vote getter and will compete with Rich for the right to take on Democrat Aisha Yaqoob in November’s general election.
  • In Lawrenceville-based District 102, which was vacated by Buzz Brockway for what turned out to be an unsuccessful run at Secretary of State, former Gwinnett planning commissioner Paula Hastings took the most votes in a three-person Republican race. Zach Procter eked out a second-place finish.  The runoff winner will face Democrat Gregg Kennard in November.
  • In Grayson-based District 105, where incumbent Republican Joyce Chandler opted not to run again, former State Rep. Donna Sheldon and Robin Mauck, the director of a nonprofit medical clinic, dominated a three-candidate contest. The winner of July’s runoff will face repeat Democratic candidate Donna McLeod for what’s become one of the most competitive — and controversial — districts in Georgia. 

Read more about Tuesday’s Gwinnett County primaries here.

Here's a look at the major Gwinnett government and school races for the May 22 primary.

Support real journalism. Support local journalism. Subscribe to The Atlanta Journal-Constitution today. See offers.

Your subscription to the Atlanta Journal-Constitution funds in-depth reporting and investigations that keep you informed. Thank you for supporting real journalism.