Latest News

Breaking news from the Atlanta Journal-Constitution

Dozens nominated for DeKalb judgeships

A group of 72 Georgia prosecutors, defense attorneys, civil lawyers, judges and lawmakers have been nominated to fill two vacancies in DeKalb County courts.

The Georgia Judicial Nominating Commission will submit a short list of finalists to Gov. Nathan Deal to replace DeKalb State Court Judge Eleanor Ross, who is now a U.S. district court judge, and DeKalb Superior Court Judge Cynthia Becker, who has said she'll retire March 1.

Many well-known names in the legal community were nominated for the jobs.

They include Griffin Bell III, the grandson of former U.S. Attorney General Griffin Bell; Lisa Chang, the former county attorney for DeKalb; Tony DelCampo, a former DeKalb State Court judge; DeKalb Chief Assistant District Attorney Nicole Marchand Golden; DeKalb State Court Judge Janis Gordon; Rep. Mike Jacobs, R-Brookhaven; Pat Killingsworth, a former Pike County chief magistrate and DeKalb Board of Ethics member; Sen. Ronald Ramsey, D-Lithonia; Natasha Perdew Silas, a public defender who was previously nominated by President Barack Obama to the federal bench; and DeKalb Assistant District Attorney Chris Timmons.

Those nominated must complete applications by Jan. 16 if they're interested in the judicial posts. Candidate interviews are tentatively set for Jan. 26 and Jan. 27.

Recommended for you

Recommended for you

Recommended for you

Most read

  1. 1 Some advice for Nancy Pelosi, from a Watergate veteran
  2. 2 Jacob Eason and Justin Fields - the before and after of transfers
  3. 3 ‘Gwinnett is the future’: Warren makes first Georgia campaign stop

Here's the full list of nominees provided by the JNC:

Abraham A. Sharony

Anton Rowe

Michael R. Friedman

Vertis J. Worsham

J.Max Davis

Jennifer Spear

Lesia Schnur

Griffin Bell III

Carol Walker-Russell

James W. Howard

E. Noreen Banks-Ware

John O. Williams

Christina Cooley Smith

Gina Bernard

Denise VanLanduyt

A'Sheika L. Penn

Juwayn N. Haddad

Charles E. Bailey

Regina Matthews

Jennifer DeBaun

Akintunde Akinyele

Andrea Dionne McGee

Derrick Alexander Pope

Michael Williams

Ronald Ramsey Sr

Maurice G. Kenner Sr

Frank T. Gomez

Rebecca Crumrine Rieder

Mike Jacobs

Joan Crumpler

Angela J. Riccetti

Todd Boyce

Timothy J. Ritzka

Janis C. Gordon

Mac Sitton

Ronnie Dixon

Donna Coleman Stribling

Kiesha Storey

Jean-Paul Boulee

Lisa E. Chang

Claire Bradley Jason

DeNorris A. Heard

Thomas Walker

Jeffrey W. Stump

Stephone Johnson

Angela Butts

La Tisha Dear

Jennifer M. Daniels

Nicole M. Golden

Susan Coppedge Amato

Patricia Killingsworth

Robert F. Dallas

Kirby Clements

Gregory J. Lohmeier

Regina Stephenson

Brian K. Ross

Norman M. Sawyer

Jonathan Granade

V. Natasha Perdew Silas

George Snyder

Timothy W. Hoffman

John K. ("Jake") Larkins, III

Deborah A. Johnson

Sam L. Brannen, Jr.

Cam-Anh Le

Richard J. Joseph

William P. Churchill, III

Christopher W. Timmons

Jennifer Watts

Charles Lynn Webb

Tony DelCampo

Chloe Dallaire

About the Author

Mark Niesse covers elections, the Georgia General Assembly and state government.

More from AJC