Best player in school history: Region 4-AAA teams

Perhaps no school its size is richer in "best-ever" candidates than Peach County.

For sure, no school has more AJC Super 11 players since 1985, when that preseason honor began. WR Kearis Jackson this year became Peach County's eighth Super 11 player.

Seven Peach County players have been players of the year in their classifications. One, Antonio Henton, was the AJC's all-classification player of the year in 2005, when he led the Trojans to a state title before signing with Ohio State.

In college, Jacquez Green and Antone Davis went on to become consensus All-Americans. Fewer than 80 former Georgia high school players have done that at the major-college level.

Peach County has had eight alumni enter the NFL in the past 30 years. Only five Georgia schools can top that, but all compete in higher classifications.

Most of Peach's NFL players through history weren't cup-of-coffee guys, either. Greg Lloyd was a three-time NFL All-Pro linebacker and played 11 years. Randy McMichael also played 11. Pete Johnson was an eight-year NFL veteran and 1,000-yard rusher.

Now for the envelope please: Marcus Robinson? This former Peach County wide receiver isn't the flashiest, but his body of work is the most complete.

At the high school level, Robinson was the first of only five Peach County players to make first-team all-state twice. The others are Tony Wright, Chris Slaughter, Demarcus Robinson (Marcus's nephew) and Tyrique McGhee.

Of those, only Demarcus Robinson and Marcus Robinson made the NFL. Marcus Robison played nine seasons. Though many of those years were as a role player, Robinson will be remembered in Chicago for his 1999 season. His 1,400 yards receiving were a team record for 13 years.

Hard to go wrong with Robinson, or with another half-dozen former Trojans. Here are GHSF Daily's choices as the best players in the history of the current Region 4-AAA schools.

*Central (Macon): Tony Gilbert (1997)

*Jackson: Willie Ward (1979)

*Kendrick: Dell McGee (1990)

*Peach County: Marcus Robinson (1992)

*Pike County: C'bo Flemister (2017)

*Rutland: Marquette King (2007)

Best player in school history series

Region 1-A teams

Region 2-A teams

Region 3-A teams

Region 4-A teams

Region 5-A teams

Region 6-A teams

Region 7-A teams

Region 8-A teams


Region 1-AA teams

Region 2-AA teams

Region 3-AA teams

Region 4-AA teams

Region 5-AA teams

Region 6-AA teams

Region 7-AA teams

Region 8-AA teams


Region 1-AAA teams

Region 2-AAA teams

Region 3-AAA teams

Region 4-AAA teams

Region 5-AAA teams

Region 6-AAA teams

Region 7-AAA teams

Region 8-AAA teams


Region 1-AAAA teams

Region 2-AAAA teams

Region 3-AAAA teams

Region 4-AAAA teams

Region 5-AAAA teams

Region 6-AAAA teams

Region 7-AAAA teams

Produced by Georgia High School Football Daily, a free e-mail newsletter. To join the mailing list, click here.

Support real journalism. Support local journalism. Subscribe to The Atlanta Journal-Constitution today. See offers.

Your subscription to the Atlanta Journal-Constitution funds in-depth reporting and investigations that keep you informed. Thank you for supporting real journalism.

About the Author