Q: In the game between Peach County and Houston County, Peach County blocked Max Rigby's punt. Rigby, also the quarterback, picked up the loose ball and threw a completed pass that resulted in a call of first down despite protests from the Peach County coaches. He kicked the ball, so it clearly wasn't a fake. Was the call correct? - Victor Kulkosky, Fort Valley
A: Correct call - as long as the player recovered the blocked punt in or behind the neutral zone, which it sounds so. It is Rule 6-2-3. Heads up play by the punter/QB. The key would be whether or not anyone was downfield illegally if the pass was thrown beyond line of scrimmage. But that's a different call." - Keith Hammond, Georgia Football Officials Association
Produced by Georgia High School Football Daily, a free e-mail newsletter. To join the mailing list, click here.
Support real journalism. Support local journalism. Subscribe to The Atlanta Journal-Constitution today. See offers.
Your subscription to the Atlanta Journal-Constitution funds in-depth reporting and investigations that keep you informed. Thank you for supporting real journalism.
Download the new AJC app. More local news, more breaking news and in-depth journalism. AJC.com. Atlanta. News. Now.
Download the new AJC app. More local news, more breaking news and in-depth journalism.