Top 50 Falcons: No. 16, R.C. Thielemann

The Atlanta Journal-Constitution is counting down the Top 50 players in Atlanta Falcons history during the franchise’s 50th anniversary season. No. 16 is right guard R.C. Thielemann.

Tackle R.C. Thielemann played eight seasons with the Falcons. (Atlanta Falcons)

Years played for Falcons: A three-time Pro Bowl selection and one-time All-Pro, R.C. Thielemann was selected in the second round, 36th overall out of Arkansas by the Falcons in the 1977 NFL Draft. He played eight seasons in Atlanta, leaving after the 1984 campaign in a trade and finishing his career with four seasons in Washington, where he won a Super Bowl in 1987.

Jersey No.: 68

His impact on the team: Thielemann played with some of the greatest Falcons of all-time and grew alongside Ring of Honor inductee Mike Kenn, whom he played seven seasons with. Both he and Kenn were mentored by 18-year veteran Jeff Van Note, who anchored the offensive line from his center position for nearly two decades. Thielemann helped block for the likes of Steve Bartkowski, Gerald Riggs and William Andrews among others. While with Atlanta, Thielemann played on the franchise’s first three playoff teams.

On being traded to Washington: “I’ve been here (Atlanta) eight years and my wife and I have made a lot of friends. That’s the bad part. The good part is that I’m going to an established winner.” (

On beating the San Francisco 49ers on Big Ben II after the game: “We’ve been paying the fiddler all season. This time we got a chance to dance.”

Where he is now: Thielemann, 60, is the president and owner of Capital Mortgage Advisors in Alpharetta.

The countdown to the Top 50 players in Falcons history runs through the end of the season.

Top 50 Falcons Countdown

50: Chuck Smith

49: Michael Haynes

48: Jonathan Babineaux

47: John Zook

46: Ken Reaves

45: Lynn Cain

44: Justin Blalock

43: Bobby Butler

42: Tim Mazzetti

41: Buddy Curry

40: Scott Case

39: Jeff Merrow

38: Elbert Shelley

37: Matt Bryant

36: Alge Crumpler

35: Michael Turner

34: Ray Buchanan

33: Chris Hinton

32: Terance Mathis

31: Devin Hester

30: Don Smith

29: Greg Brezina

28: Chris Miller

27: John James

26: Bob Whitfield

25: Rolland Lawrence

24: Alfred Jenkins

23: Billy Johnson

22: Chris Chandler

21: Morten Andersen

20: John Abraham

19: George Kunz

18: Jamal Anderson

17: Keith Brooking

16: R.C. Thielemann

Support real journalism. Support local journalism. Subscribe to The Atlanta Journal-Constitution today. See offers.

Your subscription to the Atlanta Journal-Constitution funds in-depth reporting and investigations that keep you informed. Thank you for supporting real journalism.

About the Author